New Books In the House

The Witch of Hebron by James Howard Kunstler – Thank you Alix!

Virginia Woolf bio by Hermione Lee – for Women Unbound Challenge – #fridayreads prize!

Neon Vernacular by Yusef Komunyakaa – Thank you, Lu, for a convincing BBAW Forgotten Treasures post) – #fridayreads prize!

D.V. autobio by Diana Vreeland – #fridayreads prize!

Bob Dylan’s CHRONICLES Volume One – for the  John Cusack Challenge (bookmooched)

How To Grill by Steven Raichlen – with encouragement from BermudaOnion, gift for my husband #fridayreads prize!

I want to especially thank @thebookmaven for giving out prizes to the Twitter “Friday Reads” participants!    If you are on Twitter on Fridays, just use the hashtag #fridayreads (and/or #fridaylistens for audio books) and you just might win a prize!   I did!!    With my Amazon gift certificate plus only a few dollars of my own, I purchased the Raichlen Grilling book, D.V., the Woolf bio and the poetry book.

Read all about Twitter’s #fridayreads here as explained at The Book Maven’s blog.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
18 thoughts on “New Books In the House

    1. Kathy, thanks again for clarifying WHICH book would be best. I got a very sincere ‘thank you’ from him and he is already prepping for the first few recipes to try.

    1. Debi – do you have it? Let me know and/or if you want to read together or maybe I will make all the John Cusack Challenge books my COBC choices each month. (I’m finding myself woefully inadequate at being a readalong host.)

    1. Lola, they have all been highly praised and her professional credentials are impressive. I’m hoping I can dive into this book and not be overwhelmed with stuff I don’t know the backstory, too. And it’s so very long… But my curiousity is piqued, so hopefully by November, I can dedicate myself to this VW project.

    1. Violet – I am intrigued by the dystopian theme to The Witch of Hebron and also hope that not reading the first book (this is the second in the series) that I won’t be too lost.

    1. Ronnica, Not a Dylan fan, huh? I can’t say I’m a huge fan of his music, personally but this book is part of my challenge and it does sound intriguing.

    1. Hi Lisa! The Grilling Book is GORGEOUS, too. AND he has beginner to experienced, lots of pics. My hub (the wannabe chef) is thrilled.
      And thank you for the encouragement to read AND review. 😉

    1. Amanda, I do recall you mentioning that you have this? Any time frame you think you’ll be getting to it? I might read it right after The Woman in White. Have a great Read-A-Thon!!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

