Fatal Grace: Chief Inspector Armand Gamache #2

Thoughts by Louise Penny, 2006, 313 pages

Challenge: What’s in a Name: NFL Team: CHIEFS!

Genre/Theme: Mystery

Type/Source: Tradeback / unknown

What It’s About: This is a story about mothers and daughters. Nature and nurture, too, to some extent. If you fell for Chief Inspector Gamache in the first book (Still Life), this is more of that kindly intelligent sleuthing by conversation.

We meet the victim first and she is truly unlikeable. But does she deserve to die? Why did she move to Three Pines in the first place? What is she looking for in that dear town and how awful can she be to EVERYONE?! The murder is clever in its own right and unraveling the possibilities beyond the motive is part of the fun. If fun is what you call it? #sigh

Thoughts: I do not think this is standalone. In fact, I wish more time hadn’t passed between reading this and series #1 – which means that if I want to read #3, I best hurry!

Rating: Four slices of pie. I would have given it three stars because my recollection of the details in the first book escaped me and I don’t like loose threads. The extra slice of pie is gratitude for the lovely bits about lemon meringue pie. Kudos!

Copyright © 2007-2024. Care’s Books and Pie also known as and originally created as Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

4 thoughts on “Fatal Grace: Chief Inspector Armand Gamache #2

    1. <strong>I almost used Lauren Groff’s story collection titled FLORIDA but that seemed to be stretching the attempt a wee bit. Unless the Jaguars were the Florida Jaguars but alas, they represent Jacksonville. Then I spied the Chief in this title and WA LA.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail