John Cusack Reading Challenge

***** UPdated in 2011 to make this a perpetual challenge! I have created a PAGE (see banner header, far right) and sign up if interested in joining along. *****************************************************************************************
.

jcblog1

I believe it was a Twitter Tweet that announced that Oprah Magazine had an article listing books that influenced John Cusack .    Come to find out that I had only read ONE of these books!    [Guess which one?   To Kill a Mockingbird.]

I have had a crush on John Cusack since the movie Say Anything 1989.     We are about the same age, so I have always assumed that he and I would have been friends if we had gone to the same high school.   He’s that smart guy who doesn’t run for class officer but hangs at the fringes and knows everyone but you can’t tell what clique he belongs to.    He’s too cool to be one of the popular kids.    Too edgy to be in the smart college prep group.    (I was a college prep geek.  I think.)

After reading this article, I am assuming that if he and I bump into each other at a party, I wouldn’t be able to talk books with him unless it was TKAM.     And that would be a shame.

I’m personally challenging myself to read the other seven books sometime in 2010.   Join me?   no prizes, no rules, no Mr. Linky, extremely informal.

Until I get this list read, I’ll have to avoid going to any Hollywood parties, I guess.   (Though, come to think of it, he doesn’t seem to be the Hollywood party type, does he?)

Fear and Loathing: On the Campaign Trail ’72
By Hunter S. Thompson

To Kill a Mockingbird
By Harper Lee

Chronicles: Volume One
By Bob Dylan

The Great Thoughts
Compiled by George Seldes

The Shock Doctrine
By Naomi Klein

Franny and Zooey
By J.D. Salinger

Tropic of Cancer
By Henry Miller

Rites of Spring
By Modris Eksteins

jcblog2

Thank you to the Novel Challenge Blog for listing this challenge and thus making it ‘official’!

27 thoughts on “John Cusack Reading Challenge

  1. Interesting idea there. Whilst checking the link to Cusack’s list, I was lured away by Jon Hamm’s list. Think I’ll read “the Wonder Boys” in his honor. See what you’ve started!

    1. Love it! I had to go find out what you were talking about but got distracted before I found any list. but at least I now know WHO Jon Hamm is. (I don’t watch his show.)

  2. Hee hee, too funny! I’m glad you turned this into a challenge! If you wait to read ‘Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail’ until like, January or February, I’d love to read it along with you. I’ve wanted to read that book forever.

    1. It’s a deal! I really have no idea when I’m going to start this. Dec and Jan look very crowded what with finishing challenges and starting others.

  3. “Lane, I’ve been going to this high school for 7 1/2 years. I’m no dummy.”

    I heart, heart, heart this man. I think I’ll join you on this challenge!!

  4. Oh I adore John Cusack too! He is such an intense and edgy actor, yet as his list shows, it’s intelligence in there as well as emotion. Sigh. I love him in Bullets Over Broadway, but any old Cusack film will do. Fun to make a challenge out of his list!

  5. Well I love Mr. Cusack myself but since I’ve already committed to two challenges and the year hasn’t even started, I’d better pass on joining you. But if you ever want to watch “Say Anything” “together” and twitter about how much you love the scene with the giant boom box, I’m totally with you!

  6. I love John Cusack as well – especially in Better Off Dead 😉

    I won’t join in on the challenge this time around but wish you lots of fun with it. I’ve read Modris Ekstein’s Rites of Spring and think it was one of the most fascinating books on war and society that I’ve read. Well worth reading!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail