John Cusack Reading Challenge

***** UPdated in 2011 to make this a perpetual challenge! I have created a PAGE (see banner header, far right) and sign up if interested in joining along. *****************************************************************************************
.

jcblog1

I believe it was a Twitter Tweet that announced that Oprah Magazine had an article listing books that influenced John Cusack .    Come to find out that I had only read ONE of these books!    [Guess which one?   To Kill a Mockingbird.]

I have had a crush on John Cusack since the movie Say Anything 1989.     We are about the same age, so I have always assumed that he and I would have been friends if we had gone to the same high school.   He’s that smart guy who doesn’t run for class officer but hangs at the fringes and knows everyone but you can’t tell what clique he belongs to.    He’s too cool to be one of the popular kids.    Too edgy to be in the smart college prep group.    (I was a college prep geek.  I think.)

After reading this article, I am assuming that if he and I bump into each other at a party, I wouldn’t be able to talk books with him unless it was TKAM.     And that would be a shame.

I’m personally challenging myself to read the other seven books sometime in 2010.   Join me?   no prizes, no rules, no Mr. Linky, extremely informal.

Until I get this list read, I’ll have to avoid going to any Hollywood parties, I guess.   (Though, come to think of it, he doesn’t seem to be the Hollywood party type, does he?)

Fear and Loathing: On the Campaign Trail ’72
By Hunter S. Thompson

To Kill a Mockingbird
By Harper Lee

Chronicles: Volume One
By Bob Dylan

The Great Thoughts
Compiled by George Seldes

The Shock Doctrine
By Naomi Klein

Franny and Zooey
By J.D. Salinger

Tropic of Cancer
By Henry Miller

Rites of Spring
By Modris Eksteins

jcblog2

Thank you to the Novel Challenge Blog for listing this challenge and thus making it ‘official’!

27 Responses to “John Cusack Reading Challenge”


  1. 1 sagustocox November 16, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    I wish you luck with your personal challenge. I also have only read To Kill a Mockingbird from his list!

  2. 2 Bookjourney November 16, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    I remember him in Better Off Dead (1985). That movie was so funny at the time. I still cant get the “$2.00 Dollars…. I want my $2.00′s!” out of my head…LOL

  3. 4 bermudaonion November 16, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Sounds like fun! Good luck!

  4. 5 sherry November 16, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Interesting idea there. Whilst checking the link to Cusack’s list, I was lured away by Jon Hamm’s list. Think I’ll read “the Wonder Boys” in his honor. See what you’ve started!

    • 6 Care November 16, 2009 at 3:42 pm

      Love it! I had to go find out what you were talking about but got distracted before I found any list. but at least I now know WHO Jon Hamm is. (I don’t watch his show.)

  5. 7 Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) November 16, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Hee hee, too funny! I’m glad you turned this into a challenge! If you wait to read ‘Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail’ until like, January or February, I’d love to read it along with you. I’ve wanted to read that book forever.

  6. 10 KB November 16, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    “Lane, I’ve been going to this high school for 7 1/2 years. I’m no dummy.”

    I heart, heart, heart this man. I think I’ll join you on this challenge!!

  7. 12 Marie November 16, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    OMG a John Cusack reading challenge. How cute! :-)

  8. 13 litlove November 17, 2009 at 3:15 am

    Oh I adore John Cusack too! He is such an intense and edgy actor, yet as his list shows, it’s intelligence in there as well as emotion. Sigh. I love him in Bullets Over Broadway, but any old Cusack film will do. Fun to make a challenge out of his list!

  9. 14 Jeanne November 17, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    I also love him in The Sure Thing.

  10. 15 uncertainprinciples November 18, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Best of luck on this one. Like you, the only one I’ve read is To Kill A Mockingbird, but I intend to read the Salinger soon.

  11. 16 Lisa November 20, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Well I love Mr. Cusack myself but since I’ve already committed to two challenges and the year hasn’t even started, I’d better pass on joining you. But if you ever want to watch “Say Anything” “together” and twitter about how much you love the scene with the giant boom box, I’m totally with you!

  12. 17 Melanie December 17, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    I love John Cusack as well – especially in Better Off Dead ;)

    I won’t join in on the challenge this time around but wish you lots of fun with it. I’ve read Modris Ekstein’s Rites of Spring and think it was one of the most fascinating books on war and society that I’ve read. Well worth reading!


  1. 1 Amusing Marlow / Cubicle Classics – Day 6 – Bob Dylan – The Freewheelin Bob Dylan Trackback on November 16, 2009 at 5:22 pm
  2. 2 The Sunday Salon – November 22, 2009 (The “bookish-links-for-Saturday-on-Sunday-again” edition) | BOOKS AND MOVIES Trackback on November 22, 2009 at 3:04 am
  3. 3 John Cusack Reading Challenge « The Reading Challenge Clearinghouse! Trackback on November 22, 2009 at 8:12 pm
  4. 4 Twenty in Ten Challenge « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on January 12, 2010 at 6:51 pm
  5. 5 Fear and Loathing and Admiration of Hunter S. Thompson Trackback on February 12, 2010 at 1:19 pm
  6. 6 Preview: Fear and Loathing: On the Campaign Trail ‘72 « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on February 12, 2010 at 4:27 pm
  7. 7 The Inaugural Meeting of Care’s Online Book Club « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on June 10, 2010 at 7:47 am
  8. 8 Franny & Zooey Part 1 « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on July 9, 2010 at 8:37 pm
  9. 9 New Books In the House « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on October 5, 2010 at 8:58 am
  10. 10 I Hereby Commit Myself… part 1? « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on December 28, 2010 at 9:00 am

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,485 other followers

Twitter Updates

New carpet! (And yes, this is my closet)

Goodreads

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,485 other followers

