Books in My Future

I thought I would quickly list off the books I know I want to read in the next few months;  some to finish challenges and some to start new challenges.   This list is more for me to help me get organized – my book to-do list.

Dewey’s Reading Challenge
John Green’s Abundance of Katherines – have but loaned to my next door neighbor
John Green’s Paper Towns – need
The Virgin Blue / Tracy Chevalier – have in house
The Sea – John Banville – need

Science Challenge
I wanted to read a book about bees and have narrowed it to A Spring Without Bees:  How Colony Collapse Disorder Has Endangered Our Food Supply by Michael Schacker and Fruitless Fall: The Collapse of the Honeybee and the Coming Agricultural Crisis by Rowan Jacobsen,   I’m hoping the library can find these.  I have yet to search.

I should finish my Einstein book, too.

Books I just want to read now ‘cuz’: The Mandarin and Other Stories by Eca De Queiroz (thanks Nymeth!) and Greenblatt’s Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare (thanks KB!)

Now, for upcoming commitments, I have officially and unofficially decided to read The Hobbit, Mrs. Dalloway and just maybe Moby Dick.   Of these, only MB is in the house.     I believe I said yes in Twitter to the Really Old Classics but honestly, I’m just a wimp.   But the book IS in my goodreads – unfortunately, I will have to order it.     The library, yes – even the I.L.L. – does not show it in the system: Two Zen Classics: The Gateless Gate and The Blue Cliff Records by Sekida, Katsuki.

Anyone care to talk me into any other challenges?     The Historical Fiction one, perhaps?     I could read Moby Dick for that, right?

30 thoughts on “Books in My Future

    1. Stop messing with my decisions! Actually, this book is likely on a gift list for a friend who wants to raise bees. I’ll buy one off my list for me and this for her; THANKS!

  1. I’m very curious to see what you make of Moby Dick in the end. I had to read it twice at university, and although there were bits of it that I thought were quite good, I mainly wanted to take a good pair of scissors to the book. Bah.

  2. Paper Towns is awesome! I loathed The Virgin Blue though. I’m joining in the Moby Dick read-a-long too! 😀

    I’ve been wanting to read a book about bees, so I’ll wait for your reviews. 😉

    1. Oh! I have fondness in special book spot in heart for Hobbit… I think it is the book that started me on a love for reading. Or at least the realization that I didn’t have to read ‘kids’ books anymore (I was in 5th grade)

  3. It’s been so long since I read The Hobbit – maybe I’m due for a reread. I’ve never read Moby Dick, but for some reason, the opening line comes immediately to my mind (guess that’s why it’s famous!).

    Your science picks look interesting. I’ve got the Einstein autobiography in audio waiting for me right now, plus a couple of books on physics.

  4. 1. Do you still need a copy of Paper Towns?

    2. Lovely pie header.

    3. I enjoyed The Virgin Blue, although it was disturbing. What I liked was the history of the Hugenots (sp?). I am allegedly descended from French Hugenots who escaped to England during the Protestant persecution, so the history fascinated me.

    4. No, of course not. There’s never a 4 unless there’s a 5 or we’ll all get tummy aches.

    5.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

