First Book 2016

1stbook
mewithrsl

First Book is hosted by the lovely and talented Sheila at BookJourney. I will be reading Radio Shangri-La: What I Learned in Bhutan, the Happiest Kingdom on Earth by Lisa Napoli. Click on the book cover to go to goodreads.com.

rslbyln2 rslbyln1
Memoir
Travel
Happiness

Lisa Napoli was in the grip of a crisis, dissatisfied with her life and her work as a radio journalist. When a chance encounter with a handsome stranger presented her with an opportunity to move halfway around the world, Lisa left behind cosmopolitan Los Angeles for a new adventure in the ancient Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan—said to be one of the happiest places on earth.

A big THANK YOU to Nancy the BookFool who loaned me or gave me this book way back in May of 2011. I can now soon return it to her. This book will satisfy the country category for What’s in a Name 2016, is a book “in the house” and a loaner. Three happy checks right there.

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

9 thoughts on “First Book 2016

  1. What an interesting book! I’ve always been kind of fascinated with that area of the world, but have read very few books that had that setting. Enjoy! Love the pictures! Happy New Year!!!

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing what you think of this one. My son works as an ESL teacher for Bhutanese senior refugees so I think he might enjoy this one as well.

  3. Let’s call it a “permanent loan”, shall we? 🙂 I enjoyed that book very much but it’s not one I’ll read, again, so please feel free to pass it on when you finish. I’m reading Simon’s latest for my first book of the year: Tales of Accidental Genius. I figured I can’t possibly get off to a bad start reading a Van Booy, right? I should maybe do that every year.

    Happy New Year and Happy Reading!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail