The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

[Updated May 2015 to share that I did a reread of this on Audio and loved it just as much.]

Thoughts tupohfbyrj The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce, HB from library Random House 2012, 320 pages

What’s it ABOUT: A retired gentleman with a wife who barely talks to him receives a letter from a dying friend. Attempting to post a response, he decides that a personal visit would be better. He just starts walking the 500 or so miles.

I thought this charming and delightful and so very moving. I was laughing and crying and just thought the whole story wonderfully told. It was the perfect book for me to read at the time I read it.

WHY I read this:  Selected for a book club that I will be ‘trying out’ this week. I suspect we will talk about marriage, life expectations, effects of childhood issues on how to respond as adults, death, friendships, work relationships, bad bosses, nosy neighbors, the question: are people basically good?, trust, etc.

RATING: Five slices of pie.

Just click on the book cover above to find out more.

Miscellaneous Britisms:  plasters = band aids; Turkish Delight is pink???   I always think of some kind of gooey caramel-ly concoction.

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

33 thoughts on “The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

  1. One of my best friends from my mystery group gave this one at a recommend during our December meeting. We always tell about the books we’ve loved that were not book club books. She highly recommended it and I’ve been thinking of listening to it. It sounds like one I will love.

  2. This one’s on my to-read list. I had Turkish Delight once from a Middle Eastern bakery and it was so lovely – unexpectedly rose flavoured! I’d always wondered about the taste since I was a kid reading Narnia.

  3. Yay! I love when friends love the same books I love. It makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. Well, so did this book, so that’s a win-win for us all! I have a galley of the sequel. I am anxious to read it and worried that it will ruin the story for me. Are you going to read it?

    1. Oh yes! I am looking forward to it. I think it is more a parallel story rather than a sequel. I’m most interested in Queenie’s side of the story!

    1. Just back from book club – there were 24 ladies there!! Great discussion – most liked the book but many liked it more after everyone shared insights. LOTS to talk about.

    1. I was going to download but I might wait till the price goes down or I find a copy. Library doesn’t have it yet – might wait for that, too.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail