The Rosie Project

Thoughts trpbygs The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, Simon & Schuster 2013, 304 pages

Why? Because it was touted as being a pretty entertaining read and I managed to catch a $1.99 Kindle Book Sale…

First Sentence:  “I may have found a solution to the Wife Problem.”

What’s it ABOUT? A college professor who likely could be diagnosed as having Asperger’s Syndrome for his awkward social interaction skills and highly regimented order of thinking decides to create a survey tool to find himself a suitable companion aka “wife”. His boss who is a good friend decides to have a little fun and sends him a possible candidate who obviously 1)  is NOT suitable and 2) wouldn’t take the survey if she knew about it. She comes to the prof with a project of her own.

Of course, assumptions happen. Mayhem ensues.

What’s GOOD: Such fun! The characters you want to root for are well-drawn and never let you down. The cads and scalliwags are believable, as well. Despite what one might call a formulaic* structure, it stays fresh and delightful and surprising.

What’s NOT so good: Um… It all seemed to work for me.

FINAL THOUGHTS:  I enjoyed it immensely.

RATING: Five slices of pie.

Other REVIEWS:   Chocolates & Croissants blog calls it ADORABLE, quoting Ti at Book Chatter “it’s a gem!”, and here’s a thoroughly descriptive and enjoyable review at Write Meg!

.

* RomCom formula:  boy and girl totally unworkable and at odds, end up falling in love. 

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

15 thoughts on “The Rosie Project

  1. It was a lot of fun. I am reading another one now that is fun too, but also a little sad if you think about it too much, Where’d You Go Bernadette?”

  2. I keep seeing this one reviewed and it sounds like such a fun entertaining read – also reminds me of that movie wasn’t Eddie Murphy in it and played a professor? ack! I can’t think of the name of it ~ but it was hilarious as well!

  3. Yay! I just got this on my Kindle, and I’m so glad that so many people seem to love it. Not sure when I will actually get around to reading it, but I’m sure I will enjoy it when I do 🙂

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail