Like Water for Chocolate

Thoughts lwfcbyle Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel, Anchor Books 1995 (orig 1989), 246 pages.

FIRST sentence: “Take care to chop the onion fine.”

THREE words:  Passionate, fierce, independent.

What’s it ABOUT: A young girl grows up in a kitchen, falls in love, fights her fate, and cooks up magical treats.

I have two reasons for wanting to read this book:  it has recipes and I wanted to know what the title meant.

OK, I do seem to enjoy the foodie books even though I don’t seek them out. I should. I see a pattern. Give in to it already. I love that each chapter of this story revolved or involved a recipe of some sort. I may  not actually try cooking any but I did enjoy reading through the ingredients and the process.

What was most enjoyable was the results described when eating Tita’s concoctions!  I did mention magic, did I not? Wonderful magic, unquestioned, just accepted, not fancy but so revealing. This was such a fun little book!

The book cover calls it a romance but do not let that throw you off. Tita is very much a strong girl who accepts hardwork but fights for what she believes it. When circumstances and family decide things that are not to her liking, she accepts but never ever bends. Yes, there is love and passion and passionate reactions. Love of all forms is explored.

Tita’s sister is also a delight. Well, ONE of her sisters, anyway.

I think this an excellent choice for a book club.

I am also very glad that I can show off that I have read another book off my physical book hoarding shelf. CHECK. It’s a book that is on the 1001+ Books to Read Before I Die. YAY! It’s a book that was translated – from Spanish. I’m doing good for exploring more of my planet. It’s a book that has been made into a movie! I can’t wait to see how it translates to film.

Have you read this? Have you seen the movie? Do you have any other FOODie books to recommend?

RATING:   FOUR slices of chocolate cream pie with loads of whipped cream and a few strawberries and maybe rose petals.
HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
25 thoughts on “Like Water for Chocolate

  1. trish422

    It’s kind of funny that you can check off so many things with just one book. I can’t say that I’ve ever read a food centered book. Clearly I am missing out on something.

  2. The Cure for Death By Lightning has some good old-fashioned recipes in it. Just to warn you, although it was a good book, it was also quite dark. And, of course, Chocolat!

  3. I made the mistake of seeing the movie first which generally means I can never enjoy the book fully (I spend too much mental energy trying to remember whether it’s the same as the movie was). And also, didn’t love the movie. So, it hasn’t been on my list of books to read, but now that I see how much you enjoyed it (and it’s short?) (and, chocolate!)….maybe I should go for it.

    1. Ah, you’re confused – Johnny Depp is in Chocolat set in France. This book is Mexico and I don’t think it has any known American actors. And I actually liked the movie Chocolat better than the book! It happens, sometimes.

      Thanks for the author suggestion! 😀

  4. I didn’t LOVE this one but I’ve kept it on my bookshelf just in case next time I read it I like it more. Because I have so much time to re-read books I didn’t love the first time around. ? 😉 #sillytrish

    1. I went into it with no expectations and I liked the bold prose style. It worked for me but I can see that it might not have if I had approached it in a different mood. But you can still try the pheasant with roses recipe!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

