Cloud Atlas Readalong Announcement

Melissa of Avid Reader and I are hosting a Readalong of CLOUD ATLAS by David Mitchell. Join us?
Just click her name and you will be directed to the Mr.Linky signup.
We are ORGANIZED!! The first check in (pages 1-236) will be on March 17th HERE at Care’s Online Book Club and the second/final check in will be on March 31st over at Avid Reader.
You know you wanna. The book is on the list of 1001 books you must read before you die! And it also qualifies for the What’s in a Name 5 Challenge for the “something you’d see in the sky” category. It was nominated for the Man Booker in 2004 and the Arthur C. Clarke Award and WON the National Book Critics Circle Award (Fiction). I realize it has over 500 pages but only just barely so it’s on the shorter side of the chunkster scale and a lot of people seem to have enjoyed it.

Newsweek called it “… a wild, wonderful ride.

Here’s what the goodreads.com page for Cloud Atlas has to say:
From David Mitchell, the Booker Prize nominee, award-winning writer and one of the featured authors in Granta’s “Best of Young British Novelists 2003” issue, comes his highly anticipated third novel, a work of mind-bending imagination and scope. ✫ A reluctant voyager crossing the Pacific in 1850; a disinherited composer blagging a precarious livelihood in between-the-wars Belgium; a high-minded journalist in Governor Reagan’s California; a vanity publisher fleeing his gangland creditors; a genetically modified “dinery server” on death-row; and Zachry, a young Pacific Islander witnessing the nightfall of science and civilisation — the narrators of Cloud Atlas hear each other’s echoes down the corridor of history, and their destinies are changed in ways great and small. ✫ In his captivating third novel, David Mitchell erases the boundaries of language, genre and time to offer a meditation on humanity’ s dangerous will to power, and where it may lead us.
YIPPEE!! Should be fun.
Tell everyone and post with our cool button:

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

21 thoughts on “Cloud Atlas Readalong Announcement

  1. I don’t do well in read-alongs. But I’ve had this book for ages (I read the first two David Mitchell books and loved them). Good luck! I might read along but on the unofficial side 🙂

  2. Wait–you didn’t yell at me!! But I think I’ll join you guys. Just saw a readalong for Bleak House that caught my eye but there’s about 10 million trillion rules and I just can’t handle that. 😉 I believe you and Melissa will be much nicer to me.

    xx.

    1. Wait-did I yell at you?! sorry. We would LOVE to have you join us. Melissa and I really don’t have any experience with readalongs – do we need more rules? (She is the organized one, I’m more on the YEA-LET’S-DO-THIS! cheering squad and then wait to see what happens.)

  3. Since this is on my Shelf of Doom, I really should join you. Will you remind me on March 1st to get my butt in gear and start reading? (I need someone to yell at me so I don’t forget!) I need to finish Persuasion, but I think I can manage that in the next week.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail