Persephone Holiday Reveal

[updated:   MY PERSEPHONE CAME in today’s mail!   Mrs. Pettigrew Lives for a Day!  and my Santa is KAREN of Books and Chocolate.  AWESOME.  Thank you Karen! ]

Of course, I opened it up before I remembered to take a photo.

Today, December 16, is the Persephone Holiday Gift Exchange Reveal Day!

I was Santa to a new-to-me blogger in Australia and I sent her a few clues by snail-mail as to both book AND my identity. I was very worried she might figure it out from my visits to her blog, Sam Still Reading, because she her sidebar shows WHERE her visitors are from.  All she had to do was ask a few key bloggers and my cover would be blown. I’m looking forward to commenting on her blog now – she reads GOOD stuff.

I did send postcards that suggested my being from Massachusetts or Kansas and also sent letters with quotes and images of the endpaper from the Persephone book I chose for her:  Dorothy Whipple’s The Priory.   Last year, I was bit late in getting the book ordered for my Giftee so that is why I sent clues — so she would know something was on the way. But this year, I immediately ordered the Persephone to ensure it would circle the globe with plenty of time for today’s arrival. According to my Giftee’s blog (post here), she received the package so early (mid-November?!) it must have been great temptation to open!

Wa La!  I hope you like it. I received Someone At a Distance by Whipple in last year’s exchange so I thought it fitting to give one this time. And I chose the one with the most pages. Had to have some kind of criteria!

As to MY Santa, the one who is giving ME a Persephone book this Holiday? (fyi – book is still in transit)  I think I figured it out.  But I will wait and check her blog later today and see if I’m correct.  *wink*

Thank you Claire and Verity for organizing. Happy Holidays Persephone Exchangers!  

Christmas Lobster #8

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

16 thoughts on “Persephone Holiday Reveal

  1. Jeannie, of Sam Still Reading, was the Secret Santa who sent to me. She does read GOOD stuff!!! I love her blog, and I’m looking forward to seeing what comes your way.

  2. I love Persephone books. They are such a treat to get as a gift.

    I am thinking your entire tree is covered with these lobsters. I LOVE this one. She’s all glammed out.

  3. Ooooh, LOVE this lobster!!! And you are the best gifter ever. Your gal is a very lucky one.

    Carrie–you bring so much joy to this little bloggosphere. I’m so grateful for that and for you. Hugs. 🙂

  4. Oh, I’m so happy it arrived!! I’m sorry I was a bit late getting it out, but I hope you enjoy it — it’s one of my favorites!! And I’ve included two of my favorite chocolates (books and chocolate — get it???) 🙂

  5. Wow – I finished Miss Pettigrew last night. What a coincidence! Hope you enjoy it, it’s so much fun. I want to see the movie now.
    I’m blushing at the comment that I read ‘good stuff’ – I would class it as ‘varying’ or ‘weird’ (my friend, commenting on my Japanese literature tastes) – thank you! It was a pleasure to receive my Secret Santa and now I can follow you openly. (To be honest, I didn’t notice the sidebar locations at all!)
    Love that lobster. He rocks 🙂

  6. Okay so I admit I knew it as Karen. I had to try to throw you off the scent. I promised. 😀 We were both very impressed that you suspected her!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail