The Other Boleyn Girl

Historical Literature, by Philippa Gregory 

I have rated this two and one half STARS on my 3-star rating scale.    I just felt it was TOO LONG.  Not that I could have edited it down but with about 150 pages left, I was ready for the saga to be over.   I was only curious as to the charges and process the king would use to set his absolute power on the subject of ‘failed marriage’.   

Many highnotes must be sited;  I did enjoy the book and loved the prose, the language, the detail, the pace of the story….  for most of it.    I really did find myself rooting for Mary; and for Mary to have true love.

Though enjoyable,  this won’t be one of my favorites.    I will definitely read Ms Gregory’s other works.   Someday.    Actually, my very favorite part of the book was the author’s comments on how exactly she constructs her novels.    

Movie!   Feb 2008

The Amazon Website for the Book…

Official Website for the Author…

3 thoughts on “The Other Boleyn Girl

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail