Announcing November Readalong

Winter's Night Button

Announcing:

Melissa of Avid Reader’s Musings blog and I will be hosting a readalong of this Italian classic, If On A Winter’s Night, A Traveller by Italo Calvino in November.

ioawnatbyic

We will begin November 1st and hope to blog mid-month and finish by December. Tweet along with us by following hashtag #ReadCalvino.

Why might you want to read this with us?

1) We are fun and informal.

2) The book is less than 300 pages long.

3) It is on the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die.

4) You may not have read it already?

5) Nothing else to do/read.

Melissa has THREE (3) more reasons to persuade you! Bebop over to her blog and read more if you’re not yet convinced.

Clicking on the button at the top of this post will also take you to Melissa and clicking on the second button of the book cover, you will be linked to goodreads.com.

I hope you can join us!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

23 thoughts on “Announcing November Readalong

  1. Oh man I just read this for my IRL book group a couple of months ago! I wasn’t blogging then, so I didn’t write up my thoughts, but it was so interesting. And good. And I totally want to discuss it when you guys read it 🙂 Can I do that? If I’m not officially reading along??

    1. Welcome back, Erin! You are MOST welcome to stop by and chat with us even though you aren’t officially reading during this exact time frame. We are an open laid-back informal group, I promise. 😀
      I look forward to your input.

        1. Wow – you don’t get much advance notice for jury duty? We get almost 3 months notice so that usually you forget all about it.

          YAY for joining us. I need to decide if I want to kindle it or physical.

    1. I just love the title. I had no idea that this dude and his style has been ‘intimidating’ – isn’t interesting when you don’t know nuttin’ and then someone tells you an author is ‘scary’ and so you (ok, I or is it ME?) immediately question and doubt? I’m just super glad the book is short.

  2. Oh, I have missed readalongs with you!!! But I’m having surgery the first part of November and then am going to Salt Lake for Thanksgiving week. I wonder if this is part of the free domain? LOL! I haven’t actually heard of this one before.

    1. And I’ve missed readalongs with YOU! This was first pub’d in 1979 so no, it wouldn’t likely be found on the public domain. I know it because I have poured over the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die list for years now and this one has a catchy title, don’t you think? I’m happy it is short. And I know I will need the others to help me through it (even though I have not read anything about it because I want to go in blind.)

  3. I have this in my library pile, for a 20th century reading project, so it’s lovely to find others planning on reading the same book at the same time. I love the idea and the prose, but experimental writing scares me a little.

    1. Lovely! I can say that what I know of the other readalongers who will be joining us, they will provide keen insight and interesting intelligent perspectives. Can’t wait!

  4. I don’t think I can add another readalong, but I’m still on the fence! I read this one when it was still fairly new (!) so that was a LOOONNNG time ago.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail