Authors 2012

Another personal challenge I am giving myself in 2012 is to try new-to-me authors so I can stop commenting “This is an author I have yet to experience but I can’t wait!” when I see reviews from the following:

Jon Krakauer – I’m thinking that I should try Into the Wild first.

Mary Roach – any!  Depends on when and what strikes my fancy.

Tom PerottaElection

Susan Jane GilmanHypocrite in a White Pouffy Dress

China Miéville Kraken or The City and the City

Zetta ElliotA Wish After Midnight

P.G. Wodehouse – I have Right Ho, Jeeves in iBooks

Connie Willis – Either Doomsday Book or To Say Nothing of the Dog

And these authors are favorites that I missed in 2011:

Diana Wynne Jones – most curious about Howl’s Moving Castle

Tracy Kidder – I own Old Friends, My Detachment and Strength in What Remains – which will likely be my first choice.

A.S.Byatt – I own Possession in paperback and The Children’s Book in hardback; I expect a vocabulary workout.

Ian McEwan – Eager to try Saturday.

Margaret AtwoodAlias Grace is up next.

So, counting the 11 books from the Loaned to Me Personal Challenge #1, plus a few readalongs, my monthly IRL book club, I’m up to 48 ‘scheduled’ books I *WANT* to read.

2012 PERSONAL CHALLENGE #2 – bring it on!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

44 thoughts on “Authors 2012

  1. I just read Howl’s Moving Castle for the first time, and loved it so much that I then went and watched the movie, and reread the book already. Well, re-listened, since I had it on audio, but when the print version of the book comes in from the library, I’ll probably reread it again. Highly recommended!

    And Possession is my fav book of all time. 🙂

  2. Oooh, I like this authors idea. Of course, the list of authors I find myself saying that about is probably hundreds long. Hmmm…maybe I better not play copycat on this one. 😛

  3. Love this idea, Care! Hmm, I have a few like that too – Boneshaker (Cherie Priest) comes to mind, Among Others (Jo Walton), any Charles Dickens, so many mystery series…..I think I had 32 first books in mystery series on my shelves, that I’ve been collecting to read and still hadn’t opened! yikes! I could do a whole year on just beginning series! lol

  4. I would say, for Mieville read The City and the City; for Byatt, read Possession if you’re a plot person or the children’s book if you’re a character person. But they’re all wonderful. Except I haven’t heard good things about Kraken from too many people, LOL.

    1. Oh – thank you; The City and the City it will be then. and I am probably more a character person but that’s OK – I’ll let the first sentence and my mood make that decision.

    1. I know! It might not have been the best idea to add ’em up. ALL of the authors are new to you?! We could do a readalong — let me know. 😀

    1. I have seriously thought about which Krakauer book is best to start with and yes, Into the Wild it will be. As to the Roach? I really want to read all of them and so I just might start with her first and do them in order.
      Can you believe that I’ve read a biography of our man P.G. and yet have never read any of this books?! I know the Jeeves character and have seen some of the videos of comedy skits he wrote.

  5. I’m a huge P. G. Wodehouse fan and a relatively new Connie Willis Fangirl. I think you’ll love both. Can’t remember if To Say Nothing of the Dog is the first book or Doomsday book precedes it. I read Doomsday Book and Dog is on my list of books I want to read, this year. Maybe we could buddy read it?

  6. What a great idea! I might just have to do the same thing. Since one of my challenges is to really read from my own shelves, it should allow me to do some of this since I’ve bought a lot of books by authors I’ve been wanting to read for a long time.

    1. Good luck to you. Bytheway… I will hopefully be posting a Book 1 of 1Q84 questions and discussion points sometime next week. Catch up!?! 🙂

  7. Into the Wild is a great book (especially on audio). Stiff is my favorite Mary Roach book so far. I think Lu and I are going to try to read Possession sometime this year. And I haven’t read Alias Grace, but I want to. Basically, you have awesome books on your list.

    1. I’m hoping so!
      Yes, I would love to have someone to ask all the hard questions about Possession. Alias Grace might be a Book Menage, too.

  8. I GASPED when I saw you haven’t read anything by Atwood. Yes, you must!! I’m hoping to read Byatt one of these days. Have Possession on the shelf but am intimidated.

    1. Oh! I’ve rea Atwood! She’s one that I need to read ALL and I missed her in 2011, that’s all. I read The Handmaid’s Tale very soon after starting the blog and then Blind Assassin which I loved and then I read Oryx & Crake – also good. I own Alias Grace and need to get to the sequel to O&C.
      Yea, I’m intimidated by Byatt. I read a short story collection – you should have seen the list of vocab words I had to look up. JiminyCrickets! (you can search it if you want to learn new words: Search Matisse Stories or just click here.

  9. I just counted my personal challenges (23 left) plus FOUR book groups — but I know I won’t read all of them, plus I’ve scheduled some overlap — and I’m probably up to at least 50. I am in deep trouble with book overscheduling. Le sigh.

    Some great choices on your list, though. I just finished rereading Howl’s Moving Castle and I loved it all over again.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail