Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Review  papaz P&P&Z by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith, Quirk Books 2009, 317 pages, ISBN: 978-1-59474-334-4.

First Sentence:   It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.

MOTIVATION for READING:    I won this from Cecelia! It’s perfect for the Everything Austen Challenge AND the RIP IV Challenge.    It’s my very first zombie book.   It sounded like fun AND now I don’t have to read the original P&P since I only *think* I read this but am really not at all sure that I ever did…

WHAT’s it ABOUT:    I don’t really have to tell you, do I?    Five daughters sworn to protect England from the scourge attempt to capture (and/or resist) the attentions of eligible bachelors, etc and so on.

WHAT’s GOOD:   It’s still Austen;  just with some zombie-killing thrown in.   I admit, about 10 pages in, I wasn’t sure if the gimmick would last but by the end of the book, I wanted even more zombie slayings, please!     It is cleverly amusing, amusingly clever.     I really did love the light tone and attention to manners above all.

WHAT’s NOT so GOOD:    More zombies!    It really needed more zombies!      Maybe it’s the knowing how the story goes that by the time Lizzie and Darcy confess their love, all I really wanted was one more good zombie encounter.      And…    I really want to resent Mr. Grahame-Smith for coming up with the idea, but I can’t.   It’s like not wanting to slow down to look at car crashes, but glancing over anyway.

FINAL THOUGHTS:   Silliness, all in good fun.

SPOILER!!   (just highlight the empty space here to make my text appear…  AND if you really do intend to read the book, don’t read this and blame me later for ruining a terrific scene.)   I really DID wish that she had lopped off Lydia’s head when she had the chance.

WORDS

p.53 ASPERITY “He was set right by Mrs. Bennet, who assured him with some asperity that they were very well able to keep a good cook, and hat her daughters were to busy training to be bothered with the kitchen.”

harshness of tone or manner.

p.72 MANKY “… to attend a demonstration of a new carriage that boasted of being impervious to attacks by the manky dreadfuls.”

inferior and worthless

p.155 VERDURE “The five weeks which she had now passed in Kent had made a great difference in the country, and every day was adding to the verdure of the early trees.”

lush green vegetation.

p.208 CURRICLE “… when the sound of a carriage drew them to a window, and they saw a gentleman and a lady in a curricle driving up the street.”

a light, open, two-wheeled carriage pulled by two horses side by side.

Another scene that I just have to share…

“As dinner continued in this manner, Elizabeth’s eye was continually drawn to Charlotte, who hovered over her plate, using a spoon to shovel goose meat and gravy in the general direction of her mouth, with limited success.  As she did, one of the sores beneath her eye burst, sending a trickle of bloody pus down her cheek and into her mouth.  Apparently,  she found the added flavor agreeable, for it only increased the frequency of her spoonfuls.  Elizabeth, however could not help but vomit ever so slightly into her handkerchief.”   p.121

gross, huh?!

34 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

  1. Fun! I have Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters here to review next month. I am going to read it side-by-side with the original Austen, and I can’t wait!!

    Lezlie

    1. Lezlie – will you convince me to rush out and read S&S& Sea Monsters!? I know I wouldn’t have the discipline to read it and the ‘real’ book side by side. I look forward to hearing about it from you.

  2. I’m waiting for this book to be available here. I loved Pride and Prejudice and it’s one of my fav books, I’m dying to see how this book is written.

    where are the pies Care? Or it’s just that I can’t see them?

  3. This sounds like fun, and I’m very relieved because I just purchased Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters yesterday. I think this fad won’t last long, but it’s interesting.

  4. I loved this book – I thought it was hilarious! I agree with you on your spoiler . . . I thought the same thing. I laughed out loud at Elizabeth’s fantasy and wished she really would have did it!

  5. Care, I can’t believe it but I laughed in spite of myself in reading the last paragraph, from the book, about the shoveling in dinner and the leaky eye…ugh, yet haha. Strange stuff, but entertainment? Yup, seems so.
    I’m told this genre is called “steam punk.” Heard that?

  6. I bought this book because it sounded fun and I was curious. Still haven’t read it, but I’m looking forward to it. I read the spoiler and I’ll probably agree with you. LOL

  7. Too gross for me–thanks for showing me that! Steampunk is when SF writers use 19th-century technology in some image of the future. I reviewed a book called The Somnambulist in early August that has steampunk elements (also necromancy, because the 19th-century-type machinery is keeping the body of S.T. Coleridge alive). The plot description is more fun than the book, and I’ve found this to be true of other steampunk novels. So much design, and occasionally so little plot.

    1. THANKS Jeanne! I love how you worked necromancy into your comment so I would INSTANTLY know you! 🙂
      Thanks for the info. I suppose somewhere there is a steampunk reading challenge.

  8. wasn’t this the novel that garnered all the attention because of a letter that the publisher sent out?! i think it was all over twitter but i hadn’t joined yet and missed it.

    i do LOVE the cover of this novel and adore p&p, the night of the living dead, and dawn of the dead. sounds like such a fun mix!!!

    ps. you are SO clever with your invisible spoiler!! so smart!!!

    1. Yes, I do believe Quirk Publishing upset a few people with this, now that I think of it, but it’s possible they also quickly set things right? I wasn’t involved.

  9. You’re a winner of “The Smart One & The Pretty One” at Lit And Life. Will you please send your mailing address to litandlifeATblogspotDOTcom

  10. This one is in my tbr – that is one gross quote, and I don’t know what it says about me, but it kind of moved P&P&Zombies a notch up toward the top of my tbr pile …

  11. Woohoo! I am really glad you had fun with this book 🙂
    And seeing you write this:

    “More zombies! It really needed more zombies!”

    that really made my day 😀

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail