Oh, I’m Still Here…

It’s BBAW and now I remember why I didn’t do much with it last year:   It’s FREAKIn’ overwhelming!    SO many awesome blogs to read, new and dear.   SO many new bloggers to discover and so many favorites to be sure and visit!     Just one big happy book-and-blogger Love Fest and away it swirls OUT OF CONTROL.

Throw in that I didn’t have access to a PC last week and now this week, my internet magic feels to be tapped – I can’t get websites to load, comments are eaten, Firefox decides to shut down and not allow access whatsoever.      SO I feel like a whiny do-nothing.    But it’s working today, so I’m goin’ fer it.

THAT now out of the way to excuse my not visiting / posting / commenting / applauding / contest-entering / participating (I really feel like I’ve been locked out of the party of the century!), I’ll share a few new books that I’ve been led to directly from THIS BBAW year and any/all I can blame on book bloggers for the year so far.

You’ll guess which panel I worked with when you see these new additions to my tbr:    Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev, The Privilege of the Sword by Ellen Kushner, Charlotte Sometimes by Penelope Farmer, My Invented Life by Lauren Bjorkman, and Girl at Sea by Maureen Johnson.

Now for the books I read this past year or so that I probably never would have if I hadn’t dipped my toes into this crazy/beautiful bookbloggonet:

Blame goes to

Citizen Reader: Population 485, The Father of All Things, Nobodies, How To Tell When You’re Tired.

Hey Lady: Montana 1948, The Art of Racing in the Rain, In the Woods

Dewey:   Christine Falls, Persepolis  (can’t get to this link at the moment…)

Amy: Nothing But Ghosts

Violet: Last Night in Montreal, My Father’s Paradise (and Ali?)

Jessica84 Charing Cross Road (and Citizen Reader)

Ali: Absolutely True Diary, The Housekeeper and the Professor

Verbivore/Incurable Logophilia: new to me authors  Nadine Gordimer and Coetzee

Serena:  Gods Behaving Badly (Serena – your blog won’t load for me today!)

Lots of Bloggers:   Something Wicked This Way Comes, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Their Eyes Were Watching God

Char:   Popular Music in Vittula, Remains of the Day, Geek Love

Oh there are more, many more; it would be easier to list the books I canNOT blame on blogging!

Now, go read this to recap the book-blogger year to date from the lovely and hilarious Raych.   Happy Mid-week BBAW Celebration Continuance!

29 thoughts on “Oh, I’m Still Here…

  1. I’m sorry you are having all kinds of issues today, but it isn’t just you. I was having firefox issues all day today.

    I’m sorry that my blog is not loading for you today…I have no idea why. I haven’t changed anything. UGH.

    I’m glad that you got a recommendation from me and that you enjoyed Gods Behaving Badly. I loved that book.

    Have a great weekend.

    1. oh Kathy! it IS! overwhelming!! so many blogs I know I should go visit but I’m almost scared to add more to my Reader. I know I’m scared to add more… oh well.

  2. Oh Care, I’m so sorry…that’s way too much technology frustration for one week!!! And it’s impossible to keep up with BBAW even when all systems are go!

    So glad you’re back though…hope it’s for good!

  3. I want to write the post about books I’ve read because of other bloggers, and I would if I could remember who recommended what and why I read them. But if I could remember stuff like that I wouldn’t have started blogging my books in the first place.

    Welcome back, and thanks for the good timing. I didn’t know you were away, because I was away. Now I’m not, and you’re not, so: yay.

  4. I haven’t even attempted this post because almost everything I read now is influenced in some way by this amazing blogosphere.

    I’m so glad that you read and enjoyed 84, Charing Cross Road. That’s one of those books that just makes me happy.

    (I’m sending good thoughts to your computer and internet.)

  5. I’m still catching up on reading blogs, commenting, discovering new blogs etc etc… Phew! But it’s fun! 😀

    I’m glad your internet is up and running! I understand it can be so frustrating!!

  6. I’m having trouble getting stuff to load and link and etcetera, too. HM says that reportedly, the month of September will be/is rife with appliance snafus, breakdowns both sporadic and non-sensical. Hmmm…something in the universe? Anyway, enjoyed hearing some of your fave books from bloggers I have not yet encountered….that’s the best thing about BBAW – all the new connections!
    Have a grand weekend!

  7. You’re not whiny!!! (And my mom says hi back-we watched Bones! I forgot just how wondeful a body Booth has, hehe.)

    One thing I love about the book blogging community is that even if you have to drop out for awhile (in my case, usually because I’m sick! but sometimes my laptop dies, lol), everyone always welcomes you right back and you can pick up where you left off. 😀

    1. Booth and the guy who plays him – very nice, I agree.
      You take care of yourself! and you are so right – we know life gets crazy and absences happen (did I spell that right?) Have a terrific weekend! Congrats on winning BEST NONFICTION BLOG!!!!

    1. I know! and a few of the ones I’ve picked on my own (without a net?!) haven’t been too great. But sometimes I do like to read a book that I know no one else has – just for a sense of discovery, looking for jewels to be the first to tell the world “read this!” 🙂

  8. I mostly check blogs at work (sh…don’t tell anyone) and atleast half of the blogs don’t open bcoz they have lots of fancy stuff that ages to load or is blocked 🙂 It’s no fun, I tell you.

    I’m glad you enjoyed both the books. Congrats on winning Undiscovered Gyrl, I would really love to know your thought on it.

  9. I agree that it’s overwhelming, but it’s fun at the same time. I’m playing catch up in blog reading today (though hubby is in the living room waiting for me to get off the darn computer so we can go grocery shopping!). It was a tiring week for me at work, too, so I wasn’t in the mood to go online.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

