Summary Post for 2022

Total Books read: 100+ (and yes, I read all the short little ones to make it to this century mark!)

Pages read: 27,952 ………………………………2021: 29,419
Average pages per book: 274……………………………..241
Average pages per day: 77……………………………….81

Hours listened: ~240
Audiobooks count: 33

My TOP 22 in the year 2022:

Top Ten: City of Girls, Brown Girl Dreaming, Autumn, Lucy by the Sky, Lessons in Chemistry, Five Tuesdays in Winter, Dinosaurs, The Sentence, Trust, This Time Tomorrow

I’m so pleased that these hit many different genres and categories!

Random Stuff:

29 FIVE SLICES OF PIE
53 FOUR
16 THREE
3 TWO
0 ONE
(These are spookily similar to last year!)

Books read that were over 400 pages: 13

REALLY ODD to me that I didn’t read any true chunksters (>500) this year. #Shrug

Female to Male Ratio: 72 / 26 (~12 of that 26 being US or Brit white dudes…)
Total Books by New-to-Me Authors = 42 (compared to 72 last year)
Repeat Authors = 34
Total Books by Authors of Color/LGTBQ+ = 26 (best guess estimate – didn’t do thorough research into backgrounds, assumptions might have been made)

Oldest Book: 1850 – Sonnets from the Portuguese by EBB

Number of Books Pub’d in 2022: 32 (and 27 pub’d in 2021!, 67% pub’d in the last 3 years!!!)
Books over 25 years old = 10 – over 50 years old = 7

Hardcovers 22
eBooks 19
Audiobooks 33
Tradeback 26
paperback 1
. . . . . . . . also spookily similar to last year.

Genres
Total Adult Fiction Books Read = 46
Total YA Fiction Books Read = 1
Children’s = 2
Total Memoir Books Read = 12
Total Nonfiction Books Read = 22
Short Story / Essays = 3
Poetry = 5
Mystery/Thriller = 2
Translated = 2
Fantasy = 1
SciFi = 1
Historical Fiction = 8
Cookbooks = 0
Adventure = 0
Business = 1
Graphical = 1

Number of debuts: 10 (best guess)
Best debut: Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

Number of books read on the list of 1001 Books to Read Before You Die: 2
The Optimist’s Daughter
Giovanni’s Room

(this is a very low count for me. eeeek)

Interesting Coincidences – How many time the word TOMORROW was in the book titles this year! This Time Tomorrow by Emma Straub, Tomorrow Will Be Different by Sarah McBride, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin

Books that mentioned pie: 47

And…  the Care’s Books & Pie 2022 Pie in Literature Award goes to:

Four books vie for the title this year, let me explain.

The Disreputable History of Frankie-Landau Banks by E.Lockhart. has considerable space devoted to a cross-country adventure eating at pie shoppes along the way. Who wouldn’t LOVE that? However, it wasn’t til I had completed the book that I realized that Lockhart was an author of a book I loathed. (We Were Liars. UGH)

True Biz by Sara Novic has a bit about a character wearing a Miss Sweet Potato Pie costume!

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek has multiple mentions of pie and also features a town dance where eligible young ladies bring a tempting pie to attract a future husband. Pivotal pie plot point, methinks.

The Rabbit Hutch features a diner that has a pie theme – but not any old pie theme: Avant Garde pie: new and unusual  — which is ME! and how I came into my pie passion.

drum roll, please

.

.

.

And the winner goes to The Rabbit Hutch! weird pie wins hands down, all day every day. I only wish we could have had more descriptions.

Best Pie Quote:

“I left a slice of pie in my desk drawer,“ she said mournfully. “It’s probably halfway to the moon by now.”

Subdivision by J.Robt Lennon

9 thoughts on “Summary Post for 2022

  1. This is my favorite time of year. I love to see everyone’s year-end summaries. Stanley Tucci’s will wind up on my list, too. I have Gabrielle Zevin’s book ready to read in 2023, as well as Remarkably Bright Creatures. Lucy by the Sea and Dinosaurs are also on my TBR list. Like you, I tend to read mostly famale authors, but not intentionally. It’s just the way it happens.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail