Silver Club Now Defunct

Yesterday, we held our first and our last Silver Book Club.  It was just not meant to be.   These ladies just have TOO MUCH going on!  

bbtc2.jpg  We got together at 1:30 pm, only L and M and me.   Mrs. P had decided that she just can’t sit still long enough and focus on pages and pages of words (Oh Mrs. P!  That’s OK!  I so appreciate the opportunity to get to know you.  Thank you.)  and I’m not sure about the one lady that M recruited that I never met.   We snuck into her room and retrieved the book…    I had checked out four books for the club, from two different libraries.   I was planning on returning them as soon as our meeting adjourned because they were due!  

Once we turned on every light in the room, commented about how great the sunshine was and settled into our chairs, Ms L told me she absolutely LOVED the book.   She took notes and so did M.     I brought along a few discussion questions printed off the internet but we didn’t even get to them.   We chatted about how William Blake was a real person, as was the character who ran the circus.   We all shared an embarrassing lack of interest in reading poetry as a genre;  although L wants her daughter to get her a bio on Blake.   We talked about the French Revolution and our memories of reading Dickens’  A Tale of Two Cities;  it was SOOOO long ago for ALL of us that we were unable to draw specific comparisons.

We agreed that the mother was a little thin on character development, one-dimensional and not quite convincing in her drastic switch to loving the circus after being so against it.    We disagreed that the author was able to incorporate the Blake poems successfully.   M said it was a little confusing, and L admitted to skimming right over the long poems.   And, OH! how thorough Chevalier was in her research!    About how the little details (Hot Cross Buns?   Fireworks!)  enrich the story.   The two main characters were very likable, the sister was a tad naive.

M only said it was OK, took too long to get into, but did say that she recommended it to her daughter.   L was worried about it at the beginning but jumped right in and liked it way more than she thought she would.     I felt the same way.

But we did not select a definite time to meet again.    I compare the place to dorm life in college.   So many choices for  what to fill your time!  The social life and activities available when you live in a building dedicated to the enjoyment of the rest of your life are numerous:    crafts, exercise class, movies in the afternoon, bingo, walking tours, doctor appointments, eating out…    Add to this the visits, letters and phone calls from friends and family, and days can get busy!  

The dear ladies were disappointed and truly felt bad for me [It’s all about ME, you know.  sigh]  – that I had dedicated such effort and enthusiasm (their words) to intiating a book discussion group, but were adamant that when the weather improves, their lives would only get more hectic.   They were also sad that they were unable to drum up more people to join us.    Plus, the stack of books that family had already given them, that they had yet to address and are now fending off the questions, “Hey Grandma, have you read ___________ yet?”;   they are feeling guilty.

So…  

My last trip to a book store, I purchased the Large Print edition of Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen and I am donating it to the Home.   M insisted that she be the first to read it (snatching it out of the hands of the Activities Director when I presented it!)     The library has a wait list of 42 days for this book and she is anxious to start it!

She will then give it to L to read (who has 3 books given to her from family that she says she must read next) and on one of my next visits with my dog, perhaps we will be able to get the three of us together again.

I am so glad I made the attempt.   Though we may not have a schedule to get together on a formal basis, I now have 2 new friends who share my reading passion.    You can’t have too many friends. 

I’m so looking forward to hearing how M likes Water for Elephants!  water_for_elephants.jpg

5 thoughts on “Silver Club Now Defunct

  1. This made me chuckle.. I never thought of an old folk’s home as similar to a college dorm, but I do see how that very well could be! Although I doubt they’re pulling all nighters and having keg parties in their rooms!! Too funny. You did a nice thing by giving it a try, Care.. maybe it can be a more informal group in the future but still fun.

  2. Sorry it didn’t work out as planned, but as you said, it was a good try on your part. If nothing else, maybe they will pick up a book more often for their own reading enjoyement. Good job!

  3. My first attempt at a book club didn’t work out either (I don’t know if you’ve tried this before). But it is nice to meet people who share your interest of reading! They sound like fun ladies. 😀

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail