March 2017 Recap

Collection of various thoughts…

The Winner of the Rooster! The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead over Homegoing by Gyasi Yaa. Bracket image below will take you to the final judgements.

This concludes the Tournament of Books.

Now, maybe, I can get back to real life.  My brackets; my list of favorites.

pierating

Mini Review! a DNF (sorry Mary!) rather and a recap of our book club meeting: no one had read the book. Or, no one who showed to the meeting read the book! And, everyone had a good excuse so not a big deal, things happen, I get it. So the two of us there decided to go out to dinner instead…

The Little Paris Bookshop  by Nina George. I just couldn’t quite grasp my problems with it but it was cringe-worthy many times. The premise sounded just lovely: set in Paris on a barge setup as a book store! Nifty, right? and the proprietor has a knack of recommending just the right book. Aw… but he can’t fix his own life. OK. The barge becomes unmoored and so does the tale. THEN, killer to book-malaise when in mid-stream, I read a negative review. Done; moving on. I wanted to like it but I am no longer interested in finding out what happens. Two slice of freshly baked plum tart.

We also didn’t pick a book for next month. My little afternoon club might not make it. Sniff, sniff.

pierating

Pie Chart Time


Number of books read:  5
Number of audiobooks listened:  0
Related themes:  Set in Dublin, Literary: 2
Number of TOB books read:  1
Ratio Female:Male  1 : 4
Translated works:  2, German and Swedish
Number of books with pie:  2, an Apple and a Plum

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2017. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 thoughts on “March 2017 Recap

  1. I can’t say I am surprised by the Rooster winner. I still have to read Homegoing and feel like I need to reread The Underground Railroad. I mean, I appreciated what Whitehead did and enjoyed the story (as much as you can with the subject matter and the brutality he infused in the story), but I guess I don’t see it as life-altering as some of the judgments have made it seem. I don’t know if my brain is cut out for literary commentary at that level.

    Thoughts?

    1. I’m going to read it again for precisely this reason! How did I miss what so many others clearly saw as exceptional? That’s ok, I will enjoy the experiment.

      I love the TOB commentary – so insightful and interesting. I may never get there myself – or not be so eloquent to state it, but I’ll try.

  2. I did finish that book and let me just say that you didn’t miss anything. It was pretty meh overall. And also – congrats on correctly calling the ToB winner 🙂 That clearly deserves celebratory pie.

    1. Yea, I probably should think up a few more interesting pie charts… like the length of time it took to read per book length? aw, whatever. THANKS!

    1. Yep! I liked Homegoing more, too. I thought I would try a re-read of TUR by audio but I think I’ll do the print again to see if I catch more brilliance or something.

  3. Homegoing was excellent, but I have no plans to read Underground Railroad (unless you tell me I must!) Started The Nix a few days ago and love it already…I want to do nothing but read this weekend.

    1. Goodness, I have THAT kind of power? No, I won’t tell you to read TUR but if after I reread it and change my mind AND we give it a few years and see if it has staying power, your future-self can make a fresh decision then. Fair enough?

  4. I haven’t read The Underground Railroad yet, so I don’t really have any right to say this, but I’m kind of sad that Homegoing didn’t win. I loved that one so much – I can’t imagine The Underground Railroad could be better. I guess I should read it and find out!

    1. Yes, I can say I enjoyed Homegoing more – it seemed more accessible; I liked most of all the characters. I never got a sense of Cora in The Underground Railroad but I also think (now) that this was design.

  5. I read and loved both The Underground Railroad and Homegoing, but for me, TUR is the more searing, unforgettable read. I think and hope that BOTH books will be read and taught for years to come!

    That’s too bad about your book group. I hope things turn around!

    1. Did I read your review? Visiting now to find and read it. 🙂 Thank you for this comment. I think all the judges would agree with you that both are worthy reads.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

