22 thoughts on “A Man Called Ove

  1. “It’s a nice story,” which I found kind of irritating. The way you find out Ove is a good guy is mildly interesting, but the way all the other characters are sweet to him despite how irascible he is ticked me off.

    1. Pretty sure the the TOB discussion of really timely important political controversial thought-provoking etc books made this so light in comparison. Timeliness has something to do with my reaction.

  2. These books (by Backman – all of them) sound like they would be too twee and sentimental for me. But I am not complaining. At this point, I am HAPPY when I find a book that I do not feel obligated to read, you know?

  3. My book club read it and most of us thought it was a nice story but man, it was so predictable. He is grumpy, but then is enlightened. He is irritated, but then caves. Same pattern. I liked the kooky cast of characters and the cat was sort of funny but I wanted me of the before… like when his wife was alive. I guess the movie made the book pretty popular too.

  4. Mmmmm…apple pie.

    I feel like I need to read at least one of Backman’s books. I have yet to do so, although I think I have this one on audio. I have heard a lot of people say it reminds them of Harold Fry. What do you think?

  5. I’ve heard nothing but praise for this, which makes me suspicious! Ha ha!

    So it’s nice to hear a mildly dissenting voice. I still think I might try it – someday! When I want something on the lighter side?

      1. I love cats. So there is that, then!
        I’m great, missing the blogging world and contemplating jumping back in, in some form. I don’t finish enough books anymore to be a book blogger, so, maybe…..Pie? Wait, that’s taken.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

