Save Me

Thoughts smbykkl by Kristin Kusek Lewis, Grand Central Publishing 2014, 288 pages

Challenge: Book Club Book
Genre: Chick Lit
Type/Source: eBook / Amazon Kindle
 Why I read this now: Club is today! Book finished TODAY at 5:54 am.

MOTIVATION for READING: I love book clubs. I love that I may be introduced to books I would otherwise never read, books that are outside my typical genre, hopefully something new and original and fresh. Unfortunately, this book wasn’t those things for me. It wasn’t horrible, but I was constantly nitpicky and wishing I was reading anything else. Does that make me a book snob? I feel like I’m being very book-snobby today. And of course, I know the fear of recommending a book to club that isn’t liked so this review is not meant to chide or reflect on the person who chose it because she is a lovely person and I hope she enjoyed the book – my opinion is just an opinion. I hope we have a fun discussion…

WHAT’s it ABOUT: Daphne is a doctor married to a doctor. They met in summer camp as kids but were re-acquainted by a chance encounter when they both discover they will be doing their residency at the SAME HOSPITAL!  It’s fate, it’s storybook. They get married, buy their dream home and get ready for that time when they can start a family. However, Owen discovers that he is just not ready to be a father and strays then admits to a brief affair. Daphne is shattered, “This just so isn’t like Owen, he’s a good guy.” Does Daphne forgive him? Does Daphne listen to her best friend and sister who vehemently tell her that Owen is NO GOOD?

I had understood that the book was about how it gets complicated when the chickie Owen flings with has a devastating car crash requiring long term care; Daphne selflessly decides to help caretake! Explore THAT. Yea, but no — that didn’t quite happen. The girl dies (oops – spoiler alert!) and now Owen crawls back to Daph with the newly realized awoken love for his wife. Daphne meanwhile has met a hottie distraction of her own, waffles back and forth of what to do until she eventually decides that Owen is correct: their marriage isn’t worth saving anyway. Bye bye.

WHAT’s GOOD: I found no misspelled words and not that many things worthy of an eye roll. I thought I had found one thing but it was cleared up later to my satisfaction. (Ok, it bugged me when she kept mentioning reading a book (The Woman in White) for “Annie’s book club” and I thought it odd that it wasn’t “MY book club” or just “book club”. But she actually explains it later. Well huh.)

What’s NOT so good: Full of those head game questions,”What do I do? I am so confused; do I love him? Should I take him back? What does it say about him that he decides to send this (lovey dovey email) when the woman whom he cheated with is lying in a hospital bed? How can he be so callous?

I don’t know! “Do I like this book? What’s wrong with it? Am I bored? Do I care if Daphne stays with Owen?”

FINAL THOUGHTS: It was tedious and I finally decided that what I love about books are surprises and delights. This book had neither.

RATING: Two slice of pie. Honestly, I was pleased that I found 2-3 pie mentions. There’s a bit about how her mother often entered cooking contests making mini pot pies and then Daphne cooks up her mother-in-law’s recipe for Chicken Pot Pie.

 

 

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2017. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
7 thoughts on “Save Me

  1. When I saw the words “chick lit” I thought, “Oh, this will not be a positive review, I’ll bet.” Haha. Maybe I’m figuring your reading taste out, after all! I confess I’ve found you a bit inscrutable, at times.

    1. I’m horrible, right?!

      Only had one person show for club this week. 😦 We had similar reactions to this book. We had a fun discussion. Next book will be Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

