Going Gray

Thoughts ggbyak by Anne Kreamer, Little,Brown&Co 2007, 206 pages

Full Title:  Going Gray: What I Learned About Beauty, Sex, Work, Motherhood, Authenticity, and Everything Else That Really Matters

wian2017

Challenge: What’s in a Name – Alliteration Category (two words in a title have same starting letter)
Genre: Nonfiction, Memoir? Aging, Fashion
Type/Source: Hard cover / Bookmooch…
 Why I read this now: It’s short!

MOTIVATION for READING: I somewhat remember an article or a review that suggested this book and since it was available on BookMooch, I scooped it up.

WHAT’s it ABOUT:  One woman’s decision to stop dying her hair and how she navigated through all her notions about aging, fashion, attractiveness, and her role in the world now that she was approaching ‘middle age’. It really is mostly her research on gray hair and what it means and not so much personal sharing on all that ‘everything else’ she lists in the extended title.

WHAT’s GOOD:  She does do a bit of research but it is also conducted in a personal way – which I guess is more fun, so I wouldn’t call it an academic study.  It did confirm for me that a female attempting to get a new job after age 50 is S.O.L. It is so sad how we don’t consider and value experience and society wants to ignore old people. Terribly sad.

In fact, she seems to conclude that gray hair is certainly NOT less sexy so we all can feel good about that. But finding a new job will be impossible. New lover? not a problem. Impressive to anyone hiring? not a chance.

What’s NOT so good:  She tends to make a few blanket statements that some careers are more youth-oriented than others but I think it is every job category out there.

FINAL THOUGHTS:  I really need to figure out how to write a best-seller…  or even a moderate-seller. I really am well-suited to the working conditions of being a writer. Now I just need to figure out how to produce something.  Maybe I should write a nonfiction memoir study on some odd topic and then write some self-help books… Do I sound bitter?

RATING:  Two to three slices. It was short, not really memorable and no pie was mentioned.

 

 

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2017. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
13 thoughts on “Going Gray

  1. You do not sound bitter. You sound like someone who is frustrated with the job market and frustrated that it seems any person can write a memoir these days and have it be published.

  2. I’ve gotten my gray dyed once a year for the past three years, and it’s partly because I don’t want to look too old to keep doing my job, what with the canes and crutches I frequently have to employ. It used to be that once a year was enough to keep the gray streaks from being so noticeable, but I think I might have to go to twice a year soon, if I want to keep it up. My hairdresser does a great job of painting the top of my hair with a lighter brown than its natural shade and highlighting it so that I have lots of different shades, plus the gray streaks as they come in.

    1. Yay for great stylists! One thing that did occur to me is how this lady could have colored her hair for so long and then realize that it didn’t look natural – like she was trying too hard. Wouldn’t a great stylist help with that?! yes, I think they should.

  3. I’ve never colored my hair. I read this book last year and was floored by how much the author spent coloring hers. I found the beginning of the book somewhat interesting but it fell off pretty quickly for me.

  4. BItter is beautiful, too! 😉
    I had never heard of the author, but I looked her up just now and she has some impressive career credentials as a journalist, and is married to a novelist who also hosts a public radio show, so she also has connections in media. (Not “just anyone”, maybe, is what I’m saying!)
    I am considering letting my hair go gray again now, after starting to color it again for my recent job search, but each time I go to the hair salon, I think, well, maybe next time, and get the color done again.
    I think there may be a cultural shift coming for women in late middle age to go natural, but it isn’t here yet! When even men are dying their hair in their 50s and almost all of the over-55 women I work with and friends of mine are still dying their hair, it’s still a counter-cultural decision.
    I appreciate your review, and think I won’t read this book, although the topic is one I’ve been thinking about. It’s hard for memoirs written by highly privileged and successful people to strike the right note with readers, and it sounds like this one doesn’t manage to!
    Sorry for the too-long comment!
    P.S. Your dogs look very distinguished with their gray hair. They must be males! 😉

    1. I do remember you telling me your experience on this topic. And I really don’t have any animosity towards the author nor her credentials which are fabulous. I had one of those days where I attempted to followup on job applications and am still agog at how my current job has yet to give me access to the tools. SO, frustrated more than bitter, perhaps.

      Oscar is 12 but Esther is a lovely gray-brown female dog. That’s just what Griffs look like. Oscar definitely has more gray and is looking older and distinguished.

  5. I also think that being a writer would suit me well except for that pesky writing part. Yes, I can tell a story and prefer to do so verbally.

    When I saw the Going Gray headline I thought you were reading 50 Shades since the new movie is coming out. Ha! I could never go gray because my hair is not gray all over, just in one place which would look a little Cruella-ish if I let it go.

  6. litandlife

    Life would be a lot easier if I didn’t have to worry about my grey roots. But I know I would look terrible with grey hair, to begin with (some people look great with it!). Plus, I refuse to look like a grandma when I still feel young!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

