Homegoing

Thoughts hgbyyg by Yaa Gyasi, Knopf 2016, 305 pages

Challenge: TOB Long List, Diversity
Genre: ?? Contemporary Lit + Historical Perspective?
Type/Source: Hardback / Library
 Why I read this now: Library told me it was ready.

MOTIVATION for READING: I love the premise for this and knowing it is winning a ton of praise and accolades, well – sign me up.

WHAT’s it ABOUT: Two sisters, born in Africa in the 18th century are separated and actually never knew of the other’s existence. One is sent to the US to be a slave, the other fights for survival ‘at home’ and gives legacy in Africa. The story is told by alternating sister line and generation.

WHAT’s GOOD:  POWERFUL. Characters are engaging and compelling, showing strength and weaknesses. Individuals each, doing the best they can with circumstances and the weight of fate and prophecy.

What’s NOT so good: I really enjoyed all of it.

FINAL THOUGHTS: The dialogue captured me throughout. I think the author did really well in this regard. The imagination! the RESEARCH. yowza. And able to construct a timeline of experiences and hit on so many relevant issues so topical was extraordinary.

It is a book that I’ve been recommending as fascinating and appealing to many.

RATING: Four slices of pie but maybe should be five, or at least/most with lots and lots of real cream whipped on top.

fourpie

I do not think I encountered any pie…

 

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2017. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
14 thoughts on “Homegoing

    1. These are all books I read in December! School got out and I devoured books for Holiday vacation. Now I feel like they must be reviewed before I can do my summary post.

  1. I am so glad that you enjoyed reading Homegoing. I have it on my 2017 shortlist. It was one of the books on the BookBrowse list of bests for 2016, and I am planning to work my way through reading any of the books that I haven’t already.

  2. Pingback: Pie Charts Tables Stats Words, Part 1 2016 – Care's Books and Pie

  3. Pingback: Suggestions for a Book Club, 3rd Edition – Care's Books and Pie

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

