The Double Helix: Annotated and Illustrated

Thoughts dhbyjw by Dr. James Watson, Simon and Schuster 2012 (orig 1968), 368 pages [Edited by Alexander Gann and Jan Witkowski]

Challenge: Classics Club 50
Genre: Science History
Type/Source: Hardback / Library

MOTIVATION for READING: I love science.

WHAT’s it ABOUT: How Watson and Crick used models to figure out how DNA was structured.

WHAT’s GOOD: I did not expect the breezy style. It is very readable.

What’s NOT so good:  Well, you may or may not like Dr. Watson at the end but he does tell a fun story, even if bits are regrettable. He was young and determined. He shares more than just the science, but also other activities these youthful scientists were up to – where and what they ate (gooseberry pie has a mention!), the girls they tried to meet, the famous people they encountered and traveled to visit. He talks about his troubles with the sponsor for his time abroad and quite a bit about the personalities of everyone he works with.

FINAL THOUGHTS: I am so glad to have read this. The big question:  did Rosalind Franklin get screwed out of the discovery and subsequent Nobel Prize. Question Mark. Let’s just say, it’s complicated and that I could say yes, but. It very much feels like facts happened and one’s viewpoint is X and the other is Y. This and that. Perspectives. And when you start to get snarky, it gets very ugly fast. Did circumstances make it difficult and thus makes it a helluva story? Oh yes.

She deserved more accolades and unfortunately she is getting it now and not in her lifetime. It is sad that she died so young. Was Watson a _____ (insert whatever nasty/relevant word you want here, but my answer is “he was a man”.)

And NOW:  I get to read more about Rosalind Franklin:

rftdlodnabybm

RATING: Four slices of gooseberry pie. If you are going to read this, I suggest the annotated illustrated edition.

fourpie

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
11 thoughts on “The Double Helix: Annotated and Illustrated

  1. I cannot weigh in with finality on this important gender question until I have read more (read: any) things about Franklin and Watson and then I can see what’s what. I will say that totally separate from whatever may have gone down with Rosalind Franklin, I have heard that Watson was a total jerk. So if someone has to be in the wrong here, I bet it’s him. :p

    1. Yea, I’ve heard more than once that he is a jerk. On one hand (devil’s advocate?), I imagine he was backed into a corner (self made!) and may have thought it easier to be a jerk. Still.

    1. My view – not that I disagree – is that Watson and Crick were extremely motivated and competitive to “SOLVE and be recognized” while Franklin just wanted to do her work. I am really looking forward to HER book.

  2. I just do not know enough about either to be able to weigh in on the debate, but given how women are treated in STEM fields, it would take a lot of convincing to get me to believe that Franklin got screwed. I will be waiting for your review of the Franklin biography to see what your final thoughts are on this!

    1. Please tell you that you left out the word NOT; as in “it would take a lot of convincing to get me to NOT believe that Franklin got screwed.” Right?
      Or this: “it would take a lot of convincing to get me to believe that Franklin DIDN’T get screwed.” … ah words.

      Now that I’m on a random thinking path, I really object or dislike the term ‘getting screwed’. ugh.

    1. The easy breezy style floored me. And how much FUN he got to have. We have such ideas that getting a PhD in science would have been extremely studious and stressful. Of course, that makes Rosalind’s case more dire because she really was not treated well on a day to day basis in her lab environment while the boys got to do what they pleased it seemed.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

