Vineyard Seasons

What a gorgeous cookbook! vsbysbby Susan Branch, illustrated by Susan Branch, Little Brown & Company 1988, 160 pages

Not that many pie recipes but the SOUP section really has me intrigued and very ready for fall and football season. Yea, yea, I know it already IS football season but we need to start thinking about the playoffs and what soups will best represent the cities/teams that might vie for the Super SOUP-er Bowl.

My neighbor loaned this to me because of my idea to create a pie book that would include my favorites and also weave in a few literary samples featuring pie within the story. Many a book — as all of my readers here know — contain a pie reference or two but sometimes, the flavor isn’t identified and the pie doesn’t actually propel the plot in anyway. Sometimes, however, it does… (I can think of one off the top of my head; there MUST be more, surely.)

My neighbor, let’s call her Penelope. [Penelope is not her real name.] Penelope says this book came to mind when I talked about my spin on a pie book project so she loaned it to me. Yowza! Talk about intimidation. This book is too pretty! and though the author shares some sweet quotes and a few anecdotes, it really isn’t a good model for what I hope to accomplish. But that’s OK. It was very nice of Penelope to share and some of the recipes look amazing.

I made a few copies (the chocolate mousse and something else I’ve forgotten already.) It has a Boston Crème Pie recipe – which is cake. (Maybe I should invent a Boston Cream Cake and have it actually be pie?)

Haven’t cooked anything yet, but thought I would post the link to Beth Fish Reads’ Weekend Cooking Linkup despite that little issue. Click this button: wkendcooking (will open a new window.)

I’m glad to know of Susan Branch – her many cookbooks are highly regarded and I can see why – the pages are works of art! A very pretty book to savor.

Rating:  Four Slices of Boston Cream.

fourpie

 

Question for any NanoWriMo-ers: do you think I can write 50000 words towards this project or should I write a story and not attempt nonfiction? I have less than 30 days to get some ideas!

 

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
11 thoughts on “Vineyard Seasons

  1. Beth F

    I don’t have a copy of this, but I have a couple of her other books — so pretty! I love her style. What a neat pie book project.

  2. Had some spicy sweet potato soup over the weekend, so good! Excited soup season is upon us! I think your pie book is an excellent idea and fully support you in the undertaking. On that note, do you have a gooseberry pie recipe? I have a bunch of them from my garden in my freezer and not sure what to do with them – not enough for jam but maybe enough for a small pie 🙂

  3. Hello you! I own that cookbook, and you are right, it is beautiful, but she’s an artist, so??
    I would buy your pie cookbook –just let me know when.
    (PS I am horrible at changing names to protect the innocent)

  4. The one I read is called A Fine Romance–it’s about her and her husband’s travels to the English Countryside. It’s not really a cookbook…more a travel journal…but I just loved her zest for life and it reminded me so much of you–you delight in everything and I love that about you. It does have some recipes, though I don’t think there are any pie recipes. I do think there were some references to pie, though!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

