Shrill

Thoughts sbylwnbylw by Lindy West, Hachette Audiobook 2016, 6 hours 9 minutes

Narrated by the author.

Genre: Memoir, Feminism
Type/Source: Audiobook/Audible
 Why I read this now: I wanted a short ‘something-different’ to follow Germinal. It was a perfect choice.

MOTIVATION for READING:  I had heard this was a fabulous ‘author narration’ and I wanted to try it out.

WHAT’s it ABOUT: These are fantastic essays on some big issues in our culture. Ms. West is helping make the world a little better, by speaking her mind and doing it so eloquently and succinctly. She is doing it FOR other women and is bravely wading in through the murky nasty waters of where the trolls live:  the internet. Actually, that isn’t accurate. She is doing her work – the work she has a right to be working – and it seems to be that trolls really dislike it. She isn’t inviting it or showing up there on a purpose of being where the trolls are, I mean. Where ever ‘there’ is, if you understand. I admire her wit and her ability to put these powerful words together and daring to shout them out loud.

I admire her very very much.

If there is any one thing that was frustrating, it was that I just don’t know all the names she mentions. It’s not like she shows off who she knows, per se, but that I just don’t have a clue who some (cough, a LOT) of people she talks about, mostly comedians — that is all on me because I can be pretty clueless about celebrities. To be honest, I really didn’t know who ‘Lindy West’ was before seeing everyone chat this up in the bookterwebs. Interestingly, I *did* know about the writer who dealt with a troll for an npr segment but I just hadn’t remembered that writer was Lindy West. I know I will never forget her now.

RATING:  Five slices of pie. She mentions pie in her book, bless her heart.

For one of Shannon’s Read This Watch That pairings with this book, read her post at River City Reading.

 

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
12 thoughts on “Shrill

  1. I don’t really get what her essays are about? She just talks about all things or specific things? And trolls, of the internet variety, make reading the news via social media very difficult. They will post anything to people going.

    1. You hate my reviews, don’t you.

      It’s memoir. West chats about her work, how she got started, her family, her childhood, how she took on the troll and he agreed to chat with her on npr, how she took on that comedian Tosh (I can’t stand him) about rape jokes, about fat-shaming. Ya know, “stuff”. (And not in that order.)

      Go read Shannon’s post – it is much more succinct and straightforward. I never am.

  2. I think in the cases where I was familiar with the names she mentioned, it was through her in the first place — like, I knew her work so when some of these incidents happened, I was paying attention to what she was writing and saying about them. I definitely don’t know much about the world of Comedy!

  3. This is on my audio wish list… what a great change of pace from Germinal! Belgravia got me out of my Germinal funk. My post is drafted, I’ll be back to read your wrap-up after I hit publish 🙂

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

