And Then There Were None

Thoughts attwnbyac by Agatha Christie, Harper 2011 (orig 1939), 300 pages

BackToTheClassics2016

Challenge: Classics Club 50 in 5 Years (I’m in Year 2)
Genre: Mystery Thriller
Type/Source: Paperback / Used Bookstore
Why I read this now: The itch to read a mystery and get back to my classics list lead me to search for it at my local used bookstore and I found it.

MOTIVATION for READING: I purchased three books at the bookstore and put it up for a vote a few posts ago. I started reading March before all the votes were in and Agatha was enthusiastically cheered for as my next book. I read it in one day. I didn’t think it would be that short and fast!

WHAT’s it ABOUT: Ten people are invited to an island for ‘holiday’ but the hosts are no-shows. Then someone dies! And another and another. They realize that the murderer must be one of them. Search parties, alliances and trust-not-trust dilemmas only add to the confusion. Guests keep dying! and finally, they are ALL dead. WHO was the culprit?

WHAT’s GOOD:  Very clever, very suspenseful, interesting back-stories and motives.

What’s NOT so good: I just am not that thrilled anymore about these kinds of books — I did have that dejavu feeling and I KNOW I did read it in High School or even Middle School — but I loved that this was short and easy/fast to read.

FINAL THOUGHTS: I’m glad of the ‘explanation’ letter in a bottle but sad that the last death had to happen. I was cheering for that person. It’s not that I figured out or remembered who it was but that it all felt familiar and not that startling once revealed. Still a fun whodunit, for sure.

RATING: Three slices of pie. No pie mentioned. Plenty of tinned tongue, though. Ew…

tonguetin

 

VOCAB
p. 41 – cairngorm – “…, she pinned a cairngorm brooch at her neck,” – another term for smoky quartz

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
14 thoughts on “And Then There Were None

  1. This type of twisty mystery has been done to death in recent years, but there is still something refreshing about Agatha’s novels. She did the big plot twist when it was not popular to do so, and she kept putting out unique and difficult to solve mysteries that were always entertaining and full of wonderful little details that made her characters and settings come to life. Man, now I want to reread this one. I can’t remember the ending either…

  2. litandlife

    I haven’t read any Agatha Christie in decades and can’t remember which ones I’d read. I wonder if I’d have the same reaction of deja vu that you had?!

  3. I remember enjoying this one very much, but it’s been dogs’ ages since I read it. Years and years and YEARS and years since I read any Agatha Christie book, actually! The last one was Murder on the Orient Express, which I got out of the library and which someone had doodled pictures and clues in the margins of. 😀

  4. I had to read this one for school in either 7th or 8th grade, and loved it then. Reread it several years back now, and still enjoyed it but remembered too much to make it at all surprising. Anyway, I really wanted to second you on the Ewww…for tinned tongue. *shudder*

  5. Rad this recently also, and loved it! Liked the reveal and I was also hoping the last person would make it. I enjoyed meeting each character and their back story. I would definitely re-read this one.

  6. This was the very first Agatha Christie book that I read and I think I just like the quick get in and then out feel of her books. Quick fun, I guess. I don’t recall the tinned tongue. Gross!

  7. Pingback: Back to the Classics Challenge for 2016 Wrap Up – Care's Books and Pie

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

