Unpluggity-Pluggity

Blogger-Unplugged-254x300

Yes, yes, I *do* realize that I am somewhat running a readalong this month:  #FiremanAlong

But I am also going to attempt a disconnect from social media a teensy bit and that will mean Facebook, Instagram, Litsy, and Twitter.  (ha – maybe I will attempt snapchat as soon as most of you newbies get old to it!)

Give me 7-10 days off, if that’s OK. Carry on without me, if you can.

You can do that, right?

FWIW, I have 13 hours remaining on my audio of The Fireman which might be ~45% through? — I just got to the part where Harper is visiting John Rookwood to attend to his injuries after going to her house to retrieve the ace bandage. Is that a spoiler?

It is also right after mention of the following which I knew I just had to include somewhere and since youtube song mentions are NOT such a hit on the Twitter feed, I might as well put here:

I am disheartened, disillusioned, frustrated, and scared for my country this election year. I feel the polarization and the lunacy and what seems to be a tendency to be cruel rather than compassionate in relations with ‘others’ and I can’t process. I need some time to  commune with nature.

Call it self-care.

So I’m taking a break from the internet. In some ways, I feel like I know and value a wonderful diverse caring group of friends online but I also am assaulted by persuasiveness that leaves little sympathy and empathy and respect for a different viewpoint. I also suspect that the media is feeding the beast and is not to be trusted.

I’ll shut up now and look to the sunshine. I promise to wear my sunscreen.

loveCare

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

Save

15 thoughts on “Unpluggity-Pluggity

  1. I am further along in Fireman than what you posted here. It gets really odd.

    I understand the need to unplug but man, during the read along? I will perish.

  2. It’s tough to be on social media right now. I wish we could all hang out like we used to. It’s definitely difficult to talk to you Americans, there is so much bad stuff happening now. Everyday there’s something new. It feels awkward to talk about normal stuff. Maybe it’s just my age, but it seems like younger people see only in black and white. There are no gray areas. Anyway, that’s all I have to say about it.

    I’m about 70% through The Fireman now. I feel like it slowed down.

  3. I hear you. Before I left for Holly’s dance competition, I deleted my Twitter app and my news app from my phone. I already knew I wouldn’t be opening my computer. That was the best thing I could have done. It has been over a week, and I still have not added them again. I don’t know if I want to. IG is getting to be just as bad, so I am ALL for unplugging these days.

  4. Care thank you as always for sharing the important information about pie and pi days. You are a prince among women and the blogosphere would be a pie-less place without you.

    Anyway, I am fully on board with Project Self Care for Care. Take good care of yourself and we’ll see you on the flip side!

  5. I totally empathize with your desire to disconnect from social media. I took Twitter off my phone (I still check it once a day or so on the computer.) So far I haven’t been able to do the same for Facebook, but it’s really tempting. I want people to actually be able to talk civilly face to face with one another. I want a lot of things. I hope your break restores you!

  6. ah my dear, it is good to unplug and take a rest from the bombardment we receive at our own hands at the computer. Take your time. #FiremanAlong will be here when you return. We will all still be here upon your return 🙂

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

