Your Heart is a Muscle the Size of a Fist

Thoughts yhismtsoafbysy by Sunil Yapa, Little,Brown 2016, 320 pages

Challenge:  Personal Rooster Chase
Genre:  Contemporary Lit
Type/Source:  Hardback/Indie Bookstore purchase
 Why I read this now:  Finally! I have owned this book since January? Now was finally its time.

MOTIVATION for READING:  My attempt to read books published in 2016 that might end up on the short list for the 2017 Rooster.

WHAT’s it ABOUT:  The riots protesting the 1999 WTO conference in Seattle.

THREE words:  Intense, intense, intense

Style: Yapa gives seven viewpoints to tell this happens-in-one-day story. It is a woven collection of passion and backgrounds, motivations and futility. It is very descriptive at times, almost to the point of trying too hard but it all works. The characters are fascinating, some more likable than others, some more believable maybe, but still captivating. As someone who is mainstream go-along-to-get-along in my safe suburban America, I get skewered here but I wanted to understand. Why didn’t the delegates just meet at the hotel?  

FINAL THOUGHTS: The world is a hot mess. And I don’t know my proper place within it.

RATING:  Five slices of pie.

“Because how deep the darkness of the heart which longs for control.”

The following is a bit of cinematic history, questioning why movies fail, how a few might actually be masterpieces, and yet it could also be that Americans just can’t handle the truth. Watching this reminded me of Yapa’s book and its themes so I present it here for you to reflect on as well.

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

Save

Save

16 thoughts on “Your Heart is a Muscle the Size of a Fist

    1. The only thing I want to be able to do? is make my little corner of the world a kind place; be cheerful, be respectful. Otherwise, how to choose which crusade is best?

  1. I have been meaning to read this since it came out in January too. I’m going to do so before the year is out, and I mean it! 🙂 Seems like a strong Rooster contender. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Seems like the kind of thing I’d like too, even if it’s unsettling.

  2. The world is a hot mess. Truth.

    I’m not sure I will ever pick this one up. I am well aware of the state of the world we live in and don’t like to ignore reality but being away at camp, and away from social media and the news in general was so liberating.

  3. Nothing I’ve read about this book, including your review, makes me think that reading it would help me decide how to try to make the world less of a mess.

    1. No, you might be correct. This is only an expose and only the last line offers a glimmer of hope. I think. Maybe. But it does allow one to get in the head of all the different motivations. Not that that HELPS or anything but it is fascinating.

  4. I almost bought this book at B&N the other day but then I wasn’t sure of it. I will go add this to my list. I do love this title and cover though!

    1. I don’t know. I don’t remember much about this event when it happened but it seems like if everyone was staying at the hotel, that they could have found enough space for some meetings?! and assuming that any other events likely got canceled, too? I dunno.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

