Honey Baby Sweetheart

Thoughts hbsbydc by Deb Caletti, Simon Pulse 2005 (orig 2004), 308 pages

Genre:  Young adult fiction
Type/Source: Tradeback / unknown
 Why I read this now: Wanted something lighter

MOTIVATION for READING:  I cannot recall where I got this book but it might have been – no couldn’t have been – BEA? oh well. Somebody gave it to me. I thought by title it would be a lighter beach-read kind of read but the National Award Finalist sticker on the cover made me wonder.

(Interesting, this is tagged as from the Book Blogger Convention so I did get it in 2010 in NYC! Whadday know)

WHAT’s it ABOUT: I don’t remember. Really! How SAD is that!?! It read it only 10 days ago.

WHAT’s GOOD:  I am sitting here trying to rush through this review post so I can feel like I’m accomplishing things today – I have much to do and can’t decide what to start first. Bad bad Care…

Oh. OK, it’s coming back to me. (Call me lazy, too, because I could go downstairs and fetch the book! But NOoooOOOooooo, I just want to get this done. Sigh.)

We have a young girl who is a “good girl” and knows the best way to survive high school is to keep your head down and do not ever call attention to yourself. But then she meets a “bad boy” and she falls. Hard. She has no control over herself to listen to the warnings in her head that this dude is trouble.

What’s NOT so good:  And so that is what annoyed me so. Though, I do get it! I do know we (I) often hear those warnings in our (my) head NOT to do something but this was big stuff not “don’t eat that cookie” – this was “aiding and abetting a criminal is risky!!!!” Luckily, she has a good support system to pull her through. 

Hmmmph.

FINAL THOUGHTS: It didn’t bowl me over. The book is readable. The main character likable. I have no complaints other than it really didn’t move me. 

RATING: Three slices of apple tart.

Pie! The only pie reference was a tee shirt that said “QT PIE” and the apple tart. Close enough.

 

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

