Remember Me?

Thoughts rmbysk by Sophie Kinsella, Dial Press 2008, 389 pages

Challenge:  Not applicable.
Genre: British Young Adult Chick Lit?  (why must I put a question mark?)
Type/Source: Tradeback/my cousin-in-law gave it to me
 Why I read this now: Needed something FUN

MOTIVATION for READING: I do love the cover. It is such a happy book cover! The premise is fascinating, too. What WOULD it be like to lose memory of the last few years of your life?  (In my case, I would wonder how did I end up in North Carolina and why are the politicians raising a ruckus about who can pee in the restrooms?! Seriously. THAT is what they are needing to be focused on?! What are they REALLY trying to get away with while we aren’t looking?)

WHAT’s it ABOUT: A  young lady who hasn’t even worked at her present job a year has a bad night – boyfriend is a no-show, she missed out on a bonus and her dad died! She slips in the rain hailing a taxi but wakes up 3 years later, apparently having hit her head in a car crash. She wrecked her Mercedes. But-however… she doesn’t recall having a Mercedes (how could she afford a Mercedes?!) and doesn’t even know how to drive! She has no memory of the last 3 years:  her new role as Director of her department at work, her thinner body and fixed teeth — nor of her rich gorgeous husband. WHAT HAS HAPPENED?! 

WHAT’s GOOD: The mystery is total and convincing. The transformation from loser grunt employee to gorgeous corporate bee-atch and wife to glamorous husband and lifestyle confounds the reader as well as the protagonist.

FINAL THOUGHTS:  Actually, I was not so convinced she (author) could pull it off – no one can totally transform themselves from grunt to diva in three years, can they?  but it was a fun ride and the Kinsella convinced me enough to award this a

RATING: of four slices of mince pie!

fourpie

“I have to leave, before I start buying jumbo packs of mince pies and Bing Crosby CDs and wondering if The Wizard of Oz* will be on.”

This is my first Kinsella read. I have been warned that this is one of her least successful so I might have to read something else now! Of course, her most famous book is the Confessions of a Shopaholic, but Twenties Girl or Can You Keep a Secret? has been suggested as best.

 

 

pierating

* Do the Brits watch Wizard of Oz at Christmas!?

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
7 thoughts on “Remember Me?

  1. I’ve been wondering lately about her novels – I am feeling the need for more “fun” reading in my life! Having your recommendation on this one makes it more appealing.

  2. I know I’ve read this book but I can’t remember anything about it. I even got my cousin to read it and she enjoyed it. Oh boy, guess I can read it again, huh?

    1. Ha! I hate when that happens. Was it pre-blogging? It’s especially weird when you reviewed a book and still can’t recollect the details. I usually can’t remember endings… This one is she realizes that her ‘new’ diva self wasn’t true and only a persona, she ditches the husband (he had a marriage manual!) and falls for the architect that designed her husband’s ‘loft-living’. I had more than one person that this is the ‘worst’ Kinsella so I say skip and read something else by her.

      1. Yes, I read it pre-blogging and it still doesn’t ring a bell. I actually have the book on my shelf but I haven’t been as impressed by Kinsella nowadays as I was years ago so I probably won’t bother trying to reread this.

  3. Can You Keep a Secret is the one that’s been recommended to me over and over again. One of these times I’m going to have a nice long lazy vacation and that will be the perfect time to finally try Sophie Kinsella.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

