I Capture the Castle

Thoughts ictcbyds by Dodie Smith, Audible Studios 2006 (orig 1948), 12 hours 20 minutes

Narrated by Jenny Agutter – fabulous narration. A new favorite.

Challenge: Classics Club SPIN!
Genre: Classics, Romance, YA, Coming of Age
Type/Source: Audiobook, Audible
 Why I read this now: classicsclub1Spin Time …

MOTIVATION for READING:  Lucky for me, this was my spin number.

WHAT’s it ABOUT: A writer’s family takes up residence in an English castle but finances have dwindled while the writer no longer writes and his now ‘of age’ daughters desperately need options – and food and clothes and basic necessities of life. Whatever do you know! but a couple of eligible (and rich) young men happen to drop by.

Mayhem ensues. Sort of:  this phrase implies madcap hilarity and that doesn’t quite happen, but certainly the plot moves and spins and hops along nicely.

WHAT’s GOOD: Cassandra Mortmain is a dear.

What’s NOT so good: Not a damn thing.

FINAL THOUGHTS: Truly unequivocally charming.

I must warn you that if you are to read most synopsisesses (how do you plural synopsis?!) you might roll your eyes and respond with a weary “really?”. I know, I did. I have had this on my tbr forever and only put it there because other wonderful astute wise and worthy readers said I should read it. They said I would love it. Yea, yea, whatever. It took a LOOOONG time for me to really wonder if I truly would enjoy this sappy little kid romance. That’s what I thought it might be. But she’s NOT a little kid anymore! Cassandra is wonderful!! READ it.

And how did I not realize that Dodie Smith wrote other wonderful things? I had never heard of her and thought this was her one-trick. Stupid silly me. It’s a shame this book is obscured by a silly sounding premise. I don’t even know why I think the premise sounds so silly but it does and it’s a crying shame. Great read. Most enjoyable. I want to read it again. And I never re-read books. So I’ll content myself to watch the movie and watch it again, and again. And again.

RATING: Five slices of pie.

Ms. Jakes had sent up stew and apple pie. “Oh good. Stew is so comforting on a rainy day.” (and so is pie!)

NEXT:

 

Link to Wiki which has links to other nifty stuff…

 

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

Save

Save

21 thoughts on “I Capture the Castle

  1. aartichapati

    Hooray! I loved this one much more than I ever expected to, too 🙂 I agree on enjoying it as an adult even though you maybe think it is geared towards a younger audience. That’s how I felt about A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, too.

  2. Oh, oh, oh, I didn’t know there was a movie!
    I have been the same as you – I know everyone loves this book, but I haven’t given it priority. Now I want to read it right now, but I don’t have it. Boo.

  3. Ruthiella

    I loved this book too! And I had never heard of Dodie Smith before I read it either! I think this book (and the author) might be better known in the UK? In any case, I am definitely interested now in trying some of her other novels some day. The Town in Bloom is a title I have heard about now quite a few times…

  4. Ha! I literally clapped my hands when this post came up in my feed reader. I am sooooo glad you loved this book. Isn’t it the best? And it holds up to many many rereadings in case you are curious about that. Unfortunately Dodie Smith’s other books aren’t nearly as good, but I am still rather fond of The Town in Bloom and The New Moon with the Old.

  5. I have never read this book though seeing it on my classic always makes me feel that I should. I know I should. Someday maybe. Or with my daughter maybe. Or maybe after all the review books I signed up for even though I knew I shouldn’t.

  6. It’s been so long since I’ve read I Capture the Castle that I honestly don’t remember how I felt about it, but I bought the movie so I guess I must have liked it enough to want more. Glad you enjoyed it, too!

  7. Pingback: This is the Story of a Happy Marriage – Care's Books and Pie

  8. litandlife

    I read this one years ago, shortly after I joined Goodreads and everyone was absolutely RAVING about it. I liked it but didn’t love it so it was disappointing. I think now that I’ve had some distance, I should re-read it. You didn’t know Smith wrote One Hundred and One Dalmatians?

  9. Pingback: Classics Club Spin 12 #CCSpin – Care's Books and Pie

  10. Pingback: Pie Charts Tables Stats Words, Part 1 2016 – Care's Books and Pie

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

