The Nest

Thoughts tnbycda by Cynthia D’Aprx Sweeney, ecco An Imprint of HarperCollins 2016, 353 pages

Challenge: to keep up with newly published books
Genre: Dysfunctional Family Lit
Type/Source: Hardcover, Library 14-day Loan
 Why I read this now: not sure

WHAT’s it ABOUT:  The father of four kids sets up a fund that will only be accessible when the youngest turns 40. Typically, all the siblings are eagerly awaiting and counting on this cash to bail them out of questionable financial circumstances.

Unfortunately (oh how true IS that word here!), the horrible mother decides to access the money to bail out the oldest child who commits a royal screw-up. So the next three kids are hoping/demanding that their big brother fix it.

WHAT’s GOOD: It’s quite readable and paced well and has many interesting asides and commentary on New York, marriage, solitude, babies, the literary and art worlds… There are characters to like, be charmed by and not quite trust. I love a horrible mother so I enjoyed the matriarch. I was impressed I didn’t get all the characters confused.

What’s NOT so good:  A few characters were only foils of perfection to contrast the neurotics of the main characters but this is a minor quibble.

FINAL THOUGHTS:  Here’s what I wrote in goodreads: Overall, a good solid book of the type I like to read, whatever that is. It helped that I was given a few big blocks of time to read when I thought I had to do something else. Yay for plans that change in my favor! Will this be Rooster worthy? I kind of doubt this will make the shortlist… But I could be wrong.

RATING:  Four slices of pie. No mention of pie noted.

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
20 thoughts on “The Nest

  1. This is one of the options for April’s Book of the Month selection, so I snagged it. I don’t know when I will get around to reading it. In case it does make the Rooster shortlist, I am ready to go!

  2. I either have this one or just requested it from the library. I can’t remember. But it sounds good and fits into my dysfunctional family read a thon, which I seem to be participating in without knowing it.

      1. In print! I listened to The Signature of All Things on audio, and it was really good that way, but there were times when I would have liked to be able to flip back to where the character last appeared because I had forgotten the name by the time he/she appeared again!

  3. Katie

    Keeping an eye out for it at my library. They had MR. SPLITFOOT there this weekend, but I read the first 50 pages and just couldn’t do it! Don’t tell Andi… lol

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

