My Failed March Magics Post

I can’t finish this book. I’m so sad. OK, better truer words:  I won’t read this? I am “choosing to not continue” to read this. I just want to fall into a story and get swept away and this one is making me think too much about whether or not I should keep reading. I find myself carrying the book around and then never opening or maybe reading 2 pages slowly and not paying attention. OBVIOUSLY this book is not for me.

(I still might gift it to my niece. I hope she likes it. I trust my good reading friends who adore DWJ will find this to be a successful resolution to this problem.)

Fire and Hemlock fahbydwj  FIREBIRD / Penguin Group 2012 (orig 1985), 438 pages

DNF’d – could not abide the bad spelling even if it was supposed to be like that. Ugh! I can’t translate bad spelling into what the words are supposed to be and then SO DISTRACTED and bothered. Also, couldn’t figure out the two memory thing. DWJ is just not for me. I have not the DWJ-appreciation gene; NOT that I don’t admire and respect her talent and success. I will let others enjoy her work.

Attempted to read for #MarchMagics because so many lovely readers I admire love DWJ.

Will be gifting to my Middle-School-aged niece.

Also, bad parenting. UGH again. (in the book, not referring to my niece!)

pierating

 UPDATE
So. I am substitute teaching mathematics to HS freshman in two classes and to HS seniors in another class. Plus I have a “home room” of 3o minutes with about 20 kids. Two weeks down, one week to survive til one week of totally glorious spring break and then 3-4 weeks after and then the teacher I am subbing for comes back. It’s fun, it’s exhausting, it’s overwhelming. I’m making mistakes, I’m beating myself up, I’m falling in love with the lil cherubs, I’m learning slang and other stuff, the staff is amazingly professional and inspiring, and I couldn’t have walked into anything better right now. I am trying to counter the “I’m so exhausted” thoughts with more energetic ones; but as they say, it takes 21 days to make a habit. I’m working on it!

I haven’t finished a book in what feels like forever and I am totally bonkers for the Tournament of Books. BONKERS, PEOPLE!!! I just started an audio of The Sympathizer and I think it will be a good one. I’ve also embarked on a readalong  with Book Chatter Ti of The New World to my surprise (what am I thinking trying to add something new now to my plate?) – but it is super-dooper intriguing because it is a phone app and I don’t know what to expect, really, but it’s a terrific book for #Weirdathon.

What else? I’m sorry I’m not visiting y’all’s blogs or responding to comments but thank you. And a big thank you to all those who have written me personal hand-written (and typed!) letters and postcards this past week! I got quite a bit of nice mail in that box at the end of the driveway and I love it. I’m so blessed.

Have a dynamite wonderful book-filled week!

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
28 thoughts on “My Failed March Magics Post

  1. Oh no!! I just got this one from ILL at the library but haven’t opened it yet. I need to finish Mort by Pratchett and it’s slow going. Is this your first DWJ? I listened to Howl’s Moving Castle a year or two ago and enjoyed it. Maybe audio. is a way for you to go?

    Yay spring break! 🙂 Sounds like things are going well…even if they are a bit exhausting. I’m sure you’ll continue to get into a routine. xo!!!

    1. Oh yes, pie day is MY THING! Sad that I feel I couldn’t devote true siilly crazy to it. Although, I have to say it was exciting to be teaching math on pi day.

  2. This one has been on my to-read list for a while now. I generally like DWJ but the intentional bad spelling might not work for me either. So glad you’re enjoying things right now (well, other than F&H, I mean!). Need to check out that read along!

    1. If you already love DWJ and already love kids fantasy books, I’m sure this is a fabulous FABULOUS book. It’s ME not the book. I do hope you get to it and enjoy it.

  3. Karen K.

    I know a lot of DWJ fans just LOVE this book, but I didn’t much care for it. I remember thinking that the relationship between the young girl and the older man just didn’t sit right with me. And I remember it was very confusing. That’s basically all I remember.

    Take heart, there are lots more DWJ books to enjoy. And I hope you have a good spring break! Your subbing job sounds fun but exhausting. I’m glad it’s going well.

  4. Okay I totally trust you to know what you do and don’t like but LET ME JUST SAY what I say to everyone who doesn’t like a DWJ book one time: Diana Wynne Jones is better on a reread. She just is. She is my favorite author of all time, and I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of books of hers that I’ve liked on my first try at reading them. Do with that information what you will! :p

    Er, but there is bad parenting, like, in all of them. Archer’s Goon maybe a bit less than most? That’s not a bug, it’s a feature. She had absolutely ghastly parents and it shows.

  5. I haven’t read any DWJ and she got SO many mentions during BBAW that I’ve been feeling that I was missing out. Well, everyone can’t like everything! Sometimes maybe the book doesn’t come to you at the right time in your life. Luckily, there’re many more books!
    Glad to hear about the job, and you can look forward to a well earned summer vacation now, too!

  6. Oh bummer. I have been looking forward to reading DWJ but now that you mention the bad spelling, I am super anxious about it. Maybe I will pick the book this weekend and see what I make of it?

    And yay – so glad to hear about your job!

    1. I hope and wish these letters in the style/spelling are encouraging to young readers but I canNOT figure out what the bad spelling is trying to say and it bug the crud out of me! Really, tho, it’s not the much bad spelling and I wish I could just jump over it. Maybe I’m not imaginative to jump over bad spelling? I just didn’t do wrong when I was a kid? I dunno.

      1. I don’t get bad spellings either and I spend a lot of time trying to figure out out if I read it in books. I know this will bug me about this book but I want to try it just for the intellectual challenge of it. If I do read it, be prepared for a similar review LOL!

    1. Apparently it is best experienced by buying the APP so that it reads like it was designed?!??!?! yea, but mostly about a guy who doesn’t die but his head helps him live on in “Another Plane” so to speak while the wife “ON EARTH” deals with it all.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

