The Merry Month of March

Stuff

First things first, today – MARCH 2nd – is Banana Cream Pie Day. Do what ya gotta do. I am not going to make one this year but go find a bakery to sell me a slice.

BCPDAY

MarchMagics It’s March Magics Month! This means we celebrate Diana Wynne Jones and also get to know Terry P (because I have never read anything by him.)

Also, it is the   monthlong readathon   Interesting, yes?  Y’all have read Geek Love, right? Most assuredly, my favorite weird book. I still need to explore and ponder this… See my tweets with hashtag #Weirdathon

Letter Month happened. 2016-LetterMO It was a Leap Year Leap Month. I sent letters. I didn’t keep track. If you didn’t get one and you want one, pls let me know the essential information and I will make it happen.

large-rooster-feature1  The Tournament of Books starts March 7. I’m killin’ it with my reading of books for this! Really, I am so impressed with myself, I could just spit. Also, TEE SHIRTS. Want.

What else? I might have a job starting Monday. Teaching math…

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
27 thoughts on “The Merry Month of March

    1. It’s a fun one. And reading it puts you in some kind of club with other people who have read it. Silliness but a PERFECT book for a Weirdathon.

  1. A lot going on in March! And there’s Easter at the end of the month – I have a lot of things that I want to do with my 4-year-old son so I gotta get busy. And Reading Ireland Month too!

    Geek Love is one of the weirdest books I’ve ever read, but I loved it.

  2. Geek love is one of my Book clubs signature books. It was like a train wreck that none of us could quit reading. We make all newcomers read it.
    Hooray on the job! I am in the middle of a letter to you— I started Letter Mo strong and ended mild, BUT I did it! Yay!

  3. I haven’t read Geek Love and I’ve only read one DWJ and only two TP. Don’t forget the Spring Bloggiesta is this month, too! Happy March and hope you get good news on the job front! In addition to not being a fan of jumping back and forth between time periods in books, I’m not a fan of banana cream pie, so I’ll wait for National Pi(e) to celebrate!

  4. litandlife

    Oh, I like to read mysteries in March and it completely snuck up on me. I better get through what I’m reading and get to some thrilling reading. Not a fan of banana cream pie – when is chocolate french silk pie day?

  5. Congratulations on your new job, Care! 🙂

    And, I am sulking because I didn’t get a letter from you. 😦

    I understand you got ‘Fire and Hemlock’ for March Magics. I am going to try grabbing a copy too because I loved Jones’s ‘Dogsbody’. Maybe, I will reread it, since I didn’t blog about it then.

    I am going to catch up with your tweets soon. Have a great weekend. 🙂

    1. High School math. I am not even sure if it is algebra! I am not math-certified but I’m not scared. ha! The class sizes are small – I think I will enjoy it.

  6. Congratulations on your job! I saw your tweet about it. One of these years, I am going to do Tournament of Books. I would really love to be a part of it but I need more time to read all the shortlisted books so I never bother to try. This year, I am trying to keep an eye out for “notable” 2016 releases, whatever that might mean. So hopefully, I may have read more of the shortlisted titles for next year. Maybe.

  7. I have your letter waiting for me to respond to it. I will get to it some day.

    How is the job going so far?

    You ARE totally killing it on the TOB front. I am thinking that I need to do this same project with you next year. A group TOB shortlist readathon????

    1. OH YES.YES to being more proactive on trying to guess which books will be on the TOB so we don’t have to cram February and March like I am doing….

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

