Brave New World

Thoughts bnwbyah by Aldous Huxley, Blackstone Audio 2009 (orig 1932), 8 hours 5 minutes

Narrated by Michael York.

Challenge: Classics Club
Genre: Science Fiction – Dystopia
Type/Source: Audiobook / Audible 2for1 Sale

MOTIVATION for READING: I needed a Classics Sci Fi and I can’t remember if I read it in High School.

A future where ‘they’ manufacture humans in baby factories and assign who will be the grunt workers and who will be the higher-up workers. The people in charge have doped everyone up with Soma, encouraging their consumerism and distractions of pleasant  activities, never pursuing ‘passions’. All art and drama and good books are things of the past.

I can’t say I enjoyed this story but I get why it is important as satire and commentary on society; a few issues we are still grappling with today.

Oh Good Ford! I thought it tedious, to be honest. It did have its moments. I wasn’t in the right frame of mind for it.

RATING: Three slices of pie. I didn’t make note if pie was mentioned.

Thanks to one of the commenters on this post, I hereby link to an insightful post by Elaine’s Philosophy Thoughts comparing the prophecies of Huxley’s Brave New World and Orwell’s 1984.

I also appreciate Teresa’s review at Shelf Love. “The best dystopian novels include just enough that is familiar to make readers shudder in recognition.”

More reviews at Fyrefly‘s Book Blog Search for Brave New World.

pierating

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

 

18 thoughts on “Brave New World

  1. Ruthiella

    I loved this book when I first read it. I especially think that the type of dystopia represented in the book is not too far off from the possible…keep everyone doped up on consumer goods and media… I am sorry you didn’t enjoy it that much. Better luck with your next choice!

  2. You know, when I first read the book, I didn’t like it that much either. But upon reading Neil Postman’s ‘Amusing Ourselves to Death’, and exploration of Huxley’s sinister prophesy, I think I’m starting to appreciate Brave New World… Consider media: it really does seem as though what we love will lead to our self-destruction. Maybe you should go for Postman!

    1. Thx! I know, I know, I intellectually thought I should be geeking out and laughing at the scary absurdity, but … I tell ya, I just was impatient. I will/should revisit this.

    1. Yes, certainly the theme of eliminating bad things and only promoting happy things for citizens until they don’t even realize they are no longer thinking for themselves.

  3. I was reading a baby book to Cara the other day and there was mention of pie. I’ll have to search through the bin to see if I can figure out which one. Ha!

    I had the same reaction you did to this one. I didn’t really enjoy it a whole lot but the point is definitely haunting and I can see why it’s a classic. Good thing it’s short??

  4. Yeah, I found this tedious too. I think I read it when I was sixteen? And now it is many years later but I still have such a vivid recollection of staying with my uncle and aunt in San Diego and wondering if this damn book was ever going to be over. :p

  5. I read this when I was young (around 10-12, I guess?) and it formed part of my world view. When Ron went to Officer Candidate’s School they put them in groups, and his was “Delta.” I couldn’t believe he was a Delta. I thought he should at least be in with the Betas.

  6. litandlife

    Hmm, well, I think I’ll just pass on this one. It may be one that should be read but there are too many that I want to read to worry about what should be read.

  7. Pingback: Back to the Classics Challenge for 2016 Wrap Up – Care's Books and Pie

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

