Books, Plans, Pie, Movies! and other sundry goals

sundry

I wish I could say that I am kicking butt on my goals so far this year. WAIT! Why not? Yes, I think I will just go ahead and say it and maybe it will come true.

Actually, I can’t say I’m doing poorly on the goals thing, especially considering I haven’t posted/written any goals for public viewing or even in-my-own-mind sorted out exactly.

I keep thinking I want to read a ton more books published in 2016 and that probably means I need to do more research, because:

  1. I don’t have the best method for finding out which of these books I need to know about and want to read. Does that even make sense? How do you all get your MUST-READ-CUZ-PUB’D-SOON lists?  I can honestly say that if you tweet about it and I see it, I might thus be aware. Otherwise, I have never sought this information and thus don’t know where it should come from. [I am not even sure how you all people know about the Hamilton soundtrack and how it is best acquired. I’m can be so OUT OF IT. I know you can probably buy a CD of it? Do people do that anymore? Is it on Pandora? I really need a nice teenager in my life to explain pop culture and how it works these days. It’s funny how as you age, you really don’t know how far away from NOW stuff you can get…]
  2. I need to know other bloggers who do fabulous job of reading the “recently published”.

Go ahead, give me that look and ask: “Care, why are you wanting to read the newest  books? What has gotten into you?!” OK, here it is. I was so sad that I hadn’t read ANY of the books on the LONG LIST of the Tourney of Books that I want to be ready for the one that happens in 2017. That means I have to read all the cool 2016 books. Right? RIGHT.

Now, let’s talk movies.

I must see The Painted Veil starring Edward Norton, Naomi Watts and Liev Schreiber. Now. Today. It’s a MUST. Finished the book yesterday. O.M.G. Very good.

It’s awards season and I haven’t seen many of the hot flicks. And then Shannon publishes a read/watch list for 2016 and I haven’t even read the books!

Rant: I swear, when people ask me what I do all day, since I don’t have a J-O-B “Aren’t you bored?” and I have all these books to read and movies to watch and dogs to walk and fitness goals to fit in and pies to bake and volunteer things to do, I know I must give them the dirtiest of looks. Bored?! HELL NO, I’m not bored! It doesn’t cost money to be entertained if you have a library. BORED?!  Seriously. If you have to ask that of me, you don’t know me at all and I don’t know you. Plus, I do have a job; I substitute teach. Not every day, of course because of all stuff I have somehow signed up to help with.  I’m running three websites, two of which need major attention, a Tech group to plan fun things for, and a seed of an idea to be a one-on-one tech trainer as a business, and holy guacomole… And I do send resumes out for that possibly J-O-B, I do. Lightening hasn’t hit yet there. No company has been deemed worthy of my talents yet. Whole ‘nother topic. End-rant.

I’m trying to keep up, really I am.

Movies I want to see because I read the book:  The Book Thief, Sister Carrie, Slaughterhouse Five, Apocalypse Now (Heart of Darkness), Dark Places, The Martian, Me Before You (March 2016)

Books to read soon! Americanah, Child44, The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving, HHhH, The Zookeeper’s Wife, The Wife (by Meg Wolitzer – I don’t think I have read any buzz of this — I have yet to read this author. Yikes)

And Colin Firth plays in Genius. Just last week, when I was researching Cry, the Beloved Country – which is on my Classics 50 list and I wrongly assumed as a bad stupid American that Alan Paton was black because he was from Africa – yep. Anyway, the movie Genius is about the Max Perkins, the editor of Cry, the Beloved Country and Hemingway and Fitzgerald and … So I had read the Wiki page on him only to find out they are doing a movie about him starring Firth. And then Shannon suggests we read the book upon which the film is based. Interesting? coinky-dink? See, I do know stuff sometimes, I do.

RIP David Bowie. I’ve read nine of the books on his list of 100 Favorite Books. Cool.

I will be tracking books I read that mention pie. Officially tracking, that is. Just adding another column to the tracking list. Oh, you noticed my new title for the blog, I assume?  Working on it!

January 23 is a Pie Day. Put it on your calendar and start thinking of what kind of pie you might want to bake or seek out to purchase from a reputable pie pastry bakery or restaurant.

I will continue to read classics and work on the What’s in a Name Challenge and the Back to the Classics Challenge. I am looking forward to more readalongs and open to suggestion. Andi and I spontaneously erupted into a buddy-read of The Painted Veil last weekend – what fun! There is chat for a Germinal read in the fall.

Happy 2016 – may it be a wonderful year of exciting reads.

That is all. Thank you.

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2016. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
23 thoughts on “Books, Plans, Pie, Movies! and other sundry goals

  1. Hi Care! I can’t really add value to most of your admirable goals, but I can tell you that you can stream the Hamilton soundtrack on Spotify, if you want to listen to it online! Excited to see what kind of pie you eat for Pie Day – I think I’ll try to make a key lime pie!

    1. Yea, I ended up doing a search and saw that NPR provided the Spotify link/news of it. I just haven’t gotten to it yet.

      Key Lime Pie is a great choice this time of year. Transports one to Florida.

  2. Not having a job and being bored do not go together, at least for most people. There are too many things you can do to keep you occupied.

    I was sad to hear this morning that David Bowie had passed. I have a few of his favorite books on my list to read.

    1. Me, too! I have one in house even and a few already on my tbr. I actually have read 9 – I think I didn’t get the full list on my first run through…

      (and I fixed the ‘favorite’ and deleted the other, OK?)

  3. Until I got to the end of your post, the new blog name hadn’t clicked with me, although something definitely looked different about the email in my inbox! Nice! I like it! I tweeted to the American Pie Association last year about why they weren’t publicizing National Pie Day on their Web site and they said they were just going with the 3/14 date. I thought that was sad, because why not have Pie Day and Pi Day. I’m looking for a job now and I can empathize with your rant, for sure.

    1. I noticed, too, that the Pie Council isn’t ‘pushing’ the Jan 23 date for pie. Oh well. It is easier to explain the pi date, maybe?

      So sad about the library gig not getting renewed; here’s hoping you find something even more fun. 🙂

  4. As someone who has spent a great deal of time on and off over the last 14 years as a stay-at-home-mom, I have gotten that same question a lot. Who are these people?
    And, I’m with you on the feeling of being ‘out of it’. Luckily I do have a couple of nice teenagers in my life who do help me with things from time to time. My 10-year-old, though, I think, has given up on me. She sighed with exasperation the other day when she asked me if I knew any pop music stars and I answered Bryan Adams. 🙂 (I did manage to think of a few after some prompting.)

    1. I get it, especially when I don’t have the typical interests that many have and I do realize that dogs do not have as many attention needs as human children. But that doesn’t mean I’m not a mother-hen to my pups. 🙂
      I just wonder how I’m ever going to find the time to do all these wonderful things I want to do. Everyone has this dilemma, I know.

  5. Oh my God, woman!! I have done nothing but look at lists these pasts few weeks because on the 21st, my club meets to select our books for the YEAR! We select for the entire year so there is a lot of importance put on this task because we don’t want a year full of stinkers. I have been combing through lists to determine which TWO I will pitch. In past years, my two have always made it in but competition is fierce this year. It will all depend on who shows up to that meeting to vote. So far, I have about four top contenders.

  6. GREAT NEWS I AM HERE FOR YOU RE HAMILTON! I learned about the musical in the first place by reading a review of it on New York Magazine (they loved it), and then I discovered that it was on NPR First Listen, which is how I first listened to it. And you can buy it in CD format, or you can listen to it on Spotify if you use Spotify, or you can buy it on Amazon, iTunes, or Google Play. So there you go. IT IS SO SO SO GOOD.

    For discovering what books are coming out in 2016, I do a few things. Partly, I read lots of bloggers’s “anticipated in 2016” lists — lots of good things there! I read publishers’ catalogs because I am a nerd. And also, The Millions has a massive twice-yearly “most anticipated” list where I get a lot of recommendations. So.

    1. Funny how once you ask the Internet (or Mom) a question, the answer comes! I, too, found that NewYorker article about Hamilton and Miranda and am smitten. Actually, what drove me to actually seek out the music more than just wonder about it, was a friend who loves Broadway told me “I hate rap” so she isn’t interested and it made me sad/mad. I have listened to half the songs so far and LOVE! Thank you so much.
      I also saw a goodreads list of hot 15 books in 2016 so I am checking that out with more interest than usual.

  7. If it makes you feel any better, I have not read a single one of the TOB selections either. What’s worse is that I have only heard of maybe five of them. I don’t know if it was a bad year or if the books the judges picked were not books commonly read. It seems odd to me that so many are completely new to me. I don’t consider myself completely in the know when it comes to new book releases, but I usually know of the big, important books to read. If the TOB list is an indication, I failed miserably in that this year.

    1. It’s all just another reminder that there are TOO MANY BOOKS! Which, I suppose, is not a bad thing. But so little time. Though I just added the short list to my tbr, I’m going to concentrate on 2017 TOB and read 2016-pub’d ones as much as I can. But if you want to read Our Souls at Night with me, I really think this one will be a good one to read before March. I don’t know if I have it in me to read A Little Life before then. Maybe.

  8. There is always room for more pie!

    As for learning about new books, I get a weekly email of the Sunday New York Times Book Review, I also get emails from Powell’s books and Barnes and Noble and Literary Hub. For science fiction and fantasy I subscribe to TOR.com’s blog feed. Oh and my library has digital magazines and one of them is the New York Review of Books so I read that sometimes too 🙂

  9. Oh boy, I’m so with you in always feeling like there are too many books. As soon as I saw that a movie for HHhH was being made, I knew that it was one I had to read before I saw it…and it’s still sitting on my shelves.

    I’m a pretty big Edelweiss user when it comes to finding books (though I don’t use it for e-ARCs all that often, they are available there). The site has a bit of a learning curve, but since it has catalogs for all the publishers, I tend to go through in small chunks (like month by month) and browse for interesting sounding titles.

  10. I have sort of resolved to read more new releases too and it was the Tourney list that did it to me too. My source is The Millions as well – it’s a short curated list and that helps. No time to go through the bazillion of catalogs out there.

    Also, I can’t recall if I already said this, but I love your new blog look and name!

  11. Oh, your rant! Before I had Gage is only worked for money occasionally but was BUSY! worked for money sounds weird, right? Like I was working for other things, which is only true if I count making a difference in people’s lives! Anyhoo, Just roll your eyes and continue on your merry way 🙂

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

