Wrap Up the 2015 Back to the Classics Challenge

backtotheclassics2015BUTTON

WRAP UP!!  Back to the Classics 2015 Challenge – (My original ‘sign up’)

*** update… the titles that follow have links to  my reviews…end-update***

  1.  A 20th Century ClassicThings Fall Apart Chinua Achebe 1959 √
  2. A 19th Century Far From the Madding Crowd Hardy 1874
  3. A Classic by a Woman Author Mansfield Park Austen
  4. A Classic in Translation – X
  5. A Classic: VERY LONG – Stranger in a Strange Land Heinlein √
  6. A Classic that is very short –  Heart of Darkness Conrad
  7. A Classic with a person’s name Sister Carrie Dreiser
  8. Humorous or Satirical – Portable Dorothy Parker!
  9. Forgotten* – Winesburg Ohio Sherwood Anderson √
  10. Nonfiction – X
  11.  Children’s – From the Mixed-Up Files… Konigsburg √
  12. Play – The Winter’s Tale by Shakespeare √

 

I finished at least 9 so this gives me

—->  two (2) entries <—-

for the chance to win something! I think. I didn’t really do this for any prizes since I don’t even know what that might mean but I so excited to share my own happiness with doing so well with this.

* I have NO IDEA if the FORGOTTEN category will accept the Sherwood Anderson so that will be the iffy one…

Only three of the titles above were my selections when I originally signed up. I have noted these by green-fonting the category. But probably not FOR that category! Just sayin’.

Just for the record, my favorite of this list has to be the Hardy. LOVED it on audio! Least favorite was the WinesburgOH story collection. I am MOST proud of myself for tackling Stranger in a Strange Land (and also Atlas Shrugged which would have worked for the very long or woman-author category). If I wanted to and I do but don’t want to take the time at this moment, I could list/shuffle multiple entries for a few of these categories, as I’m sure all of us participants could do.  Sister Carrie had been on my tbr for-EVER, so I am glad to cross it off my must-read-someday list. I am glad to now know first-hand the Austen characters of Mansfield Park. Many of the books here are also books I am just glad to have read for social cred points, if such a concept exists. (OF COURSE, it does! #smirk)

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
5 thoughts on “Wrap Up the 2015 Back to the Classics Challenge

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

