Signing up for 2016 Back to the Classics Challenge

***Update…  I just realized that I have The World According to Garp  was published in 1978 so does not qualify as a “Back to Classics” classic!  WHAT? How?! did this happen. So I do need a banned book suggestion (or I can actually give my 50s list a researched view). ALSO I have decided to commit to the short story collection by Katherine Porter for category 12. …End-Update***

BackToTheClassics2016And here are the categories for the 2016 Back to the Classics Challenge:

1.  A 19th Century Classic – any book published between 1800 and 1899. THE WAY WE LIVE NOW (or something) by Trollope.

2.  A 20th Century Classic – any book published between 1900 and 1966. THE PAINTED VEIL by WSMaugham

3.  A classic by a woman author. AND THEN THERE WERE NONE by the awesome Agatha

4.  A classic in translation. Woo Boy… Perhaps THE THREE MUSKATEERS by Dumas because I have a copy in house but it is more likely I succumb to listening to the audiobook.

5.  A classic by a non-white author. Um, I do sadly realize that the only non-white on my classics 50 list is Solomon Northup so his TWELVE YEARS A SLAVE might be the choice here. I am open to suggestions.

6.  An adventure classic. THE DUD AVOCADO by Elaine Dundy.

7.  A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classic.  ???  Would Gogol’s DEAD SOULS fit?! OR.. I just found this quote somewhere:  “…GRAVITY’s RAINBOW was nominated for the Nebula, a prestigious science fiction award,…” So let’s put this one here. I really wonder what I was thinking putting this on my classics 50. DON’T TELL ME ANYTHING! I do not want to know.

8.  A classic detective novel. Not sure this is exactly a detective novel but I’m going with THE HUNTER by Richard Stark. Otherwise I will have to swap out the Agatha Christie to a different category? I’m not even sure if hers qualifies for detective but should, right?

9.  A classic which includes the name of a place in the title. I put BRIGHTON ROCK by Graham Greene on my classics 50 list because I actually got to visit Brighton UK.

10. A classic which has been banned or censored. uh…. Let’s see. Probably THE WORLD ACCORDING TO GARP (John Irving) without doing any research; I bet this has been banned by someone somewhere. And if not, then I can use my own father as the guy who once forbade me from reading this. I think I am now old enough to make my own decision.

11. Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college). Ugh! NO. I do not want to do this category – but really only because the books I would want to read are very long (Tale of Two Cities and/or Les Miserables) and I am wanting to read newly published books or books for challenges (ie already on my classics 50 list which OF COURSE none of my HS reading is on that list.) If I decide to do this, I will read Of MICE AND MEN / Steinbeck.

12. A volume of classic short stories. ______ fill in the blank_____.

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
14 thoughts on “Signing up for 2016 Back to the Classics Challenge

  1. Jillian

    I didn’t want to do the read a book from high school or college category either. 🙂 I really want to read your #5. Best wishes with this!

  2. I’ve been thinking about doing this challenge myself. I usually try to stay away from these (even though they always tempt me), but this seems manageable and I can think of a few books I want to read anyway that would fit nicely into the categories. But there are a couple of categories that I can’t think of anything at all.
    Graham Greene and Maugham are both good ideas – I’ve been meaning to read something from both of them at some point.
    I just have to find the time to make a list…

  3. For what it’s worth, Alexandre Dumas was mixed-race. So you could conceivably use The Three Musketeers for the nonwhite author category. I am spreading the word. Alexandre Dumas had a dashing black father who went around doing awesome soldiery adventures. IT IS TRUE. (Tom Reiss wrote a book about it called The Black Count.)

  4. The Painted Veil is SO good!! I know you are going to enjoy it. As for going back and revisiting a book from HS, I would totally read A Tale of Two Cities. Then again, that has always been one of my favorite Dickens novels.

    Good luck with this list. I know you are going to have a blast!

  5. Ruthiella

    I love this Challenge and I love reading the participants lists; so much variation!

    Gravity’s Rainbow was also published in the 70s : (…But there is tons of classic SciFi from the 60’s and prior… Have you read A Brave New World by Huxley? If yes, then maybe something from HG Wells or Jules Verne or Edgar Rice Burroughs… or Heinlein or Vonnegut or Bradbury?

    For the non-white author category, you could try something by James Baldwin. I have yet to read Giovanni’s Room, but I really want to. For this category, however, I am going to read Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe.

    For a banned classic, I am going to read either Lolita or the Grapes of Wrath. Another suggestion: Huckleberry Finn

    1. Great catch, thanks. I should be able to find something I haven’t read in the SciFi category. and terrific sug for Baldwin. I’ve read Lolita (tho I might be tempted to do a reread) and Huck Finn and don’t-hate-me but GoW is on my averse-to list. I’ll find something. I was just hoping to find only books on my classics 50.

  6. You did great with last year’s Classics Challenge so good luck with this one! I should join in on this one as I always think I need to read more classics.

  7. litandlife

    if, by chance, you do go with Les Miz, I’ll read it with you. I started it a few years ago and got about half way through then stopped because I had some reading commitment and never picked it up again. But I really do want to be able to say I finally finished it!

  8. Pingback: Back to the Classics Challenge for 2016 Wrap Up – Care's Books and Pie

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

