From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Thoughts ftmufbyekAtheneum Books for Young Readers (Simon & Schuster) 2013 orig.1967, 172 pages

For the latest Classics Club Spin. I’m also counting this for the Kids Classic category of the Classics Challenge.

Loved it!

Claudia is a 6th grader who wants to run away so her family will miss her and thus appreciate her. She gets caught up in the planning – she is a very good planner. Smart, too. She ends up taking her little brother Jamie with her, and not just because he has plenty of cash to fund the adventure (though the money does prove helpful) but because he is just a good kid.

The adventure takes a turn when Claudia falls in love with the statue Angel which may or may not be a work of Michelangelo. She cannot return home until she KNOWS!

Fun book. Very quick to read. Four slices of pie. fourpie

“Jamie bought a cheese sandwich and coffee. After eating these he still felt hungry and told Claudia she could have twenty-five cents more for pie if she wished. Claudia, who had eaten cereal and drunk pineapple juice, scolded him about the need to eat properly. Breakfast food for breakfast, and lunch food for lunch.” [Phooey on that – I’m with Jamie. Pie for breakfast is CERTAINLY acceptable and appropriate.]

Another favorite quote from page 151:

“Happiness is excitement that has found a settling down place, but there is always a little corner that keeps flapping around.”

Winner of the Newbery Medal.

TELL ME IF YOU’VE SEEN THE MOVIE!

Possible Spoiler; I have a question… I totally failed to find the link between the attorney and the kids – he was the kids’ grandfather!? I was a bit gobsmacked at the end with this minor plot point revelation. But I didn’t let it diminish my enjoyment.

pieratingsml

 

Copyright Β© 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.Β  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
23 thoughts on “From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

  1. It makes me so happy that you enjoyed this! This was my favorite book as a kid!!! I couldn’t even tell you how much time I spent daydreaming about hiding out and living in a museum. πŸ˜›

  2. I have been trying to get my kids to read this book, but so far they won’t do it (Sometimes they get stubborn about books I recommend to them. Do they think it’s going to be boring and educational?). Anyway, I just might have to read it for myself.

  3. I bought this for my son for Christmas several years ago and it still has the wrapping on it. I asked the girl if she wanted to read it and she frowned. I can’t win these days. I will keep it for myself!

  4. Isn’t it a sweet book? Is this your first experience with EL Konigsburg? Her books are sort of hit or miss with me, but I loooove this one, and then I also super love The View from Saturday and Jennifer, Hecate, Macbeth, William McKinley, and Me, Elizabeth. So wondrous.

    1. Yes, dear Jenny, as far as I remember this is my first mtg with ELK and I love her! I loved the bit she wrote for the edition I have and bet she was a real hoot to have tea with. As would you be.

  5. Pingback: Wrap Up the 2015 Back to the Classics Challenge | Care's Online Book Club

  6. This is a book I am hoping to read soon. I love how quirky it sounds.

    Also, meant to reply sooner but stuff got in the way – The Prince Edward County book that I was reading was from the library, not my copy. 😦 Though the return date came and went so I may have to get my own copy at some point.

    Anddddd, love this new blog look!!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

