December 2015 Classics Spin #ccspin

Updated with Monday announcement of THE NUMBER:  19!

Image result for number 19 images

 

SPIN TIME!  Where the prize is the reading experience…

classicsclub1My new choices for this list of twenty:

  1. The Three Muskateers – Alex Dumas
  2.  Jude the Obscure – Hardy
  3.  the Woodlanders – Hardy
  4.  Cry the Beloved Country – Alan Paton
  5.  The Painted Veil – WS Maugham
  6. And Then There Were None – Agatha Christie
  7.  The House of the Seven Gables – Hawthorne
  8. The Golden Notebook – Doris Lessing
  9. The World According to Garp – Irving
  10. The Way We Live Now – Trollope
  11. the Counterfeiters – A. Gide
  12. The Ox-bow Incident – Walter Van Tilberg Clark
  13. West With the Night – Meryl
  14. I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith
  15. the Bird’s Nest – Shirley Jackson
  16. The King Must Die – Mary Renault
  17. The Dud Avocado – Elaine Dundy
  18. the Hunter – Richard Stark
  19. From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler – EL Konigsberg
  20. The Double Helix – Watson

pieratingsml

The reasoning for picking THESE twenty titles involved the letters T-H-E.  These are the only books on my original 50 that have THE in the title (and/or THERE). I wanted a theme…

I’m cheering for #2 (Obscure Jude) and #4 (Cry Beloved) because I have these books IN HOUSE but also for #6 (Agatha!) or #9 (Garp!!) because I assume I can get these quickly from the library. And I want to read these maybe more than the others at the moment. But I will read whatever is spun. I promise.

What number are YOU CHEERING for so it will be the one I  have to read?  ha

Spin number announced on Monday.

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

 

21 thoughts on “December 2015 Classics Spin #ccspin

  1. I already left this comment on twitter, but since I’m here anyway I thought I’d test out my commenting skills to see if they still work. Bahahaha! I’m listening to I Capture the Castle right now and enjoying it. I loved Cry the Beloved Country and would love to read it again (or listen to it). I have the audio and ebook of Madding Crowd that I’d love to get to this year, but I’m thinking it might just have to wait until after the holidays.

    Hugs!!!! 🙂

  2. Definitely #19 — From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler — because that was my #1 favorite book as a kid, along with The Little Princess, The Egypt Game, Baby Island, The Active Enzyme Lemon-Freshened Junior High School Witch, Harriet the Spy, and the Witch Family! And maybe a few others that aren’t popping to mind, but definitely remember the joy of meeting someone else in high school who had read From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler, but I always remembered it as “Frankenweiler”!

  3. Karen K.

    I’m rooting for #5 on my list (which I’m about to post) but I love your #5 as well, The Painted Veil — I’ve read it at least three times and I get something new out of it every time. I also love The Way We Live Now, I Capture the Castle, and West with the Night. And who doesn’t love Frankeweiler? I desperately wanted to go to NY and visit the Met after that book!

    1. Speaking of Classics Challenge… I think I might actually have this somewhere on my shelf! which I’m not sure about. whatever. I know I want to read this and I want to see the movie and I must read before see. sigh.

  4. We share I Capture the Castle and the Golden Notebook if either of those numbers spin our way on Monday.
    Although I think you’ll enjoy whatever you spin 🙂

    1. ARE they in the same number slot?!?!?! I will go look but wouldn’t that be COOL. I could rearrange so they are! and if they HIT, we could read together?!?!?!

    1. LOOKING FORWARD TO IT!!! BRING IT. (Sometimes, I want to wonder what happened to that scoffing reading I used to be that dismissed these books that exceeded 400 pages.but why bother, it would be like trying to watch a singular rain drop find the ocean.)

  5. Jillian

    I like everything on my list, but in this moment, I’m hoping for #3, which means you’d be reading The Woodlanders. 🙂 If you get your #4, I’m reading Zelda Fitzgerald. Good luck! 🙂

  6. My vote is for 14 or 19 (From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler is a favourite of mine). And maybe 8, as The Golden Notebook is also in my TBR, although you know, now that I think about it, I don’t remember seeing it when I unpacked … Oh, and of course, Dame Agatha.

  7. Lucky you! I absolutely love the Mixed-Up Files! I reread it every few years. I blogged about it (& cried!) when Konigsburg died in 2013. What a fun book. Claudia is the best!!

    Are you happy with the pick? Have you read it before?

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

