Week Three #NonFicNov

image

Week 3: November 16 to 20 (Hosted by Becca)

Nontraditional Nonfiction: This week we will be focusing on the nontraditional side of reading nonfiction. Nonfiction comes in many forms. There are the traditional hardcover or paperback print books, of course, but then you also have e-books, audiobooks, illustrated and graphic nonfiction, oversized folios, miniatures, internet publishing, and enhanced books complete with artifacts. So many choices! Do you find yourself drawn to or away from nontraditional nonfiction? Do you enjoy some nontraditional formats, but not others? Perhaps you have recommendations for readers who want to dive into nontraditional formats.  We want to hear all about it this week!  

 

I’m really not that particular about how my nonfiction is delivered. I suppose this post idea is to remind me to seek out the variety? I really do not but should know what ‘oversized folios’ are…

I like audiobooks but sometimes nonfiction on audio is tough. Mostly when I want to take notes – hard to do when I am usually driving a car when audiobooking. Now this can happen with fiction, too, so I don’t know why I think it is an extra big deal with nonfic.

With that said, I do enjoy the audiobooks of the comediennes. Comedy in the ears, it just WORKS.

And, if I have to pat myself on the back for something… I did read a nonfic graphic book: stbydc Science Tales. Just sayin’.

 

pieratingsml

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
14 thoughts on “Week Three #NonFicNov

  1. I think for me it would also have to be nonfiction graphic memoirs. I’ve read several of those and have enjoyed them. Will have to think about this question a bit more!

  2. OH ya. I forgot about the whole taking notes thing while listening to audiobooks. Sometimes I’ll bookmark quickly, but without the written note (which I can’t do when driving!!) it’s hard to remember WHY I bookmarked a passage. Or I never go back. Not like my current Nonfiction read (All Joy and No Fun) where I’ve highlighted something on every single flipping page. 🙂 BUT, I still prefer nonfiction on audio. So.

    Also yay NaNoWriMo! I need to be better about visiting blogs so I can see fun new things like this! 🙂

  3. I think nonfiction is just so information dense that taking notes seems majorly important for recalling it later. It doesn’t always necessarily build upon itself like info in fiction books do. And yay you know what oversized folios are now! lol

  4. I tend to love nonfiction via audiobook. I find I can pay closer attention while listening without the tendency to nod off as usually happens when reading a print version. I know. Weird.

  5. Care, I really enjoy listening to audiobooks while I run; it gives me something to focus my attention on so that I’m not obsessing about every step and the distance ahead. I usually don’t listen to ones that I’d like to read for review since, as you’ve mentioned, I can’t take notes; I do like to listen to funny memoirs!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

