Dear Author

Dear Author:

Thank you for considering me to be a possible book reviewer and CONGRATULATIONS for publishing a book. It does sound like a fun one but I must regrettably say no. I still have the last author’s book waiting for me to read and I sort of? maybe? said yes when he asked because I had actually met him – twice actually and enjoyed his debut novel – but here it is a few years (YEARS!) later and I still have yet to grab it and read it. I do know where on the shelf it sits. Sits glaring at me trying to get me to put it in front of the three book club books I must get through next, and the Twitter readalong book that I am hosting in October* – which I still don’t even have physically in the house (I seem to prefer physical books though my Kindle is loaded) but that’s OK since October is still a few weeks away. I really should request it at the library, now that I come to think of it.
I hope that this last sentence has convinced you that I am not worthy nor able in my scatter-brained way to commit to such a thing as review a non-requested pitched book which if you check again on my blog surely says that I rarely-to-never agree to do such things anyway. And please do not take offense that I say I prefer authors be dead already before I review their books because I hate to upset anyone if I didn’t like it. No, I think I took that off my About page, so never mind. And I really do hope my favorite authors stay alive because that would be just awful. Truly, tis the guilt that makes me say no, I would just feel miserable and I just know I would see a shiny new book pop up due to whatever it is that makes books popular. (I’ve avoided The Girl on the Train so far, I am actually proud to say.) But guilt! I read for fun, you know? I can’t handle the read-cuz-you-PROMISED-kind-of-reading, sadly. And then there was this really sweet author who I chatted with on Twitter and she commented on my blog a few times – we really interacted, ya know? and I still haven’t gotten to HER book and I really do want to. So many books!
Finally, and in more words than I expect you braved through, I must decline and again say I do appreciate you thinking of me and will go ahead an assume it is because I do do (yes, I said it that way and it just sounds right but likely is not ‘proper’) such an awesome job reviewing books. Did you notice that I DNF’d The Secret History?!** And she’s one talented author! oops, oh well. It happens. Hopefully, and I bet likely, she isn’t interested in me to review her books. I don’t wish her dead, of course.
BEST to you in your future endeavors, I’m sure the marketing piece of writing a book is hell, just sure of it. I hope your book is on goodreads – I just might tbr it which might garner you some attention. Really, no one reads my poor little blog anyway. Ok, then, noodles (I mean TOODLES!). Best of luck.
Care
loveCare
* I wrote this in mid-September 2015 in quick response to a rather charming book pitch email.
**  I ended up getting back to The Secret History and skimmed the middle 3/5ths and 4/5ths sections, listened to the last fifth and happily declared it be “Enough-Done-Read-To-Count”. It really was a mood thing; I would very much have enjoyed it if I had had no other pressing demands on my time at that moment. I would never wish an author dead. Never. But it’s true that dead-author books are much easier to review in terms of risking hurt feelings.
NOTE: I received a rather charming response to this email, too. I just might read the book. Alas, someday.

pieratingsml

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
10 thoughts on “Dear Author

  1. I LOVE it! I especially love that you actually sent it to an author and they replied! This message sums up exactly how I feel about accepting review copies *heads off to feel guilty about not being able to read a thousand books a day*

  2. Ah this wonderful! I get so many book pitches in my email every day that I have no time to reply to any of them. What gets me is those who take my nonresponse as a reason to email me several more times! As though their pestering is somehow going to convince me to change my mind. I understand how hard the whole book marketing thing is but like you, I did not start a book blog in order to get free books.

    1. I recall being STUNNED when the book-blogging craze REALLY hit to find out how many people DID – just for the free books! I think I’ve accepted 5 maybe? over the 7 years I’ve been doing this? (not counting free books from BEA, of course…which is slightly different, right? I still need to read ALL but one of these. That was 5 years ago.)

  3. You gave your “no thank you” much more time and attention than I normally give mine. I am the queen of “I appreciate the offer but am not interested at this time. Thanks!”

  4. Pingback: Five for Friday: Links of the Week, November 13 - The 3 R's: Reading, 'Riting, and RandomnessThe 3 R's: Reading, 'Riting, and Randomness

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

