Week One #NonFicNov

image

Week 1: November 2 to 6 (Hosted by Kim the Sophisticated Dork)

Your Year in Nonfiction: Take a look back at your year of nonfiction and reflect on the following questions – What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year? What nonfiction book have you recommended the most? What is one topic or type of nonfiction you haven’t read enough of yet? What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?

So far this year, I’ve read 12. Not quite 20% which is often my average. This month will boost that.

Two I rated FIVE star (Bad Feminist and H is for Hawk) with quite a few at FOUR star. The Oscar Wilde bio was disappointing and I had troubles with a few but not necessarily disappointing reads. Three were comedienne treats (Poehler, Handler and Lawson) and two more took to me far away lands (Bookseller and Color). Three were audiobooks – Yes Please, Five Days, and H is for Hawk. Every author was new to me.

FAVORITE:  H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald

MOST RECOMMENDED by me:  H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald, followed by Bad Feminist and Yes Please

NOT-READ-ENOUGH-OF NONFICTION:   “important to know” books, history and biography

WHAT I HOPE TO GET OUT OF #NonFicNov:  More illumination on a few important issues. For the list of books I want to get to yet this month, read my post here.

pieratingsml

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
28 thoughts on “Week One #NonFicNov

  1. Those are some good books! I think I want to reread/ relisten to Bad Feminist. I loved it first time but struggled to bring my thoughts together. Definitely worth reading it again.

  2. I want to read Five Days At Memorial. Have heard it’s a good one. I have it in my Audible library and just need to remember to listen to it. I don’t read much non-fic, but I have found that I can listen to it better than reading in print. Which is good. 🙂

  3. I’m with you in feeling like I have never read enough history, even though I read quite a bit…it seems like there’s always more to pick up! I’m super excited for Nonfiction November to start and see what everyone will be reading this month.

  4. I thought Five Days at Memorial was both fascinating and scary… great audio production, too. H is for Hawk is pretty close to the top of my audible wish list and I just brought Welcome to the Departure Lounge home from the library. Hope I can get to it this month.

  5. I have H is for Hawk on audio and I was considering not reading it this month, but you’ve just changed that! It’s what I’ll be listening to next.

  6. Care! Care, Care, Care. You need never EVER read a bad book about Oscar Wilde. Next time, apply to me, and I will tell you only the wonderful Oscar Wilde books to read. I promise. Me, Clare from the Literary Omnivore, and Cass from Bonjour Cass will all make sure that you do not read lame Oscar Wilde biographies. Promise. You just let me know.

    1. Jenny, Jenny, Jenny – we’ve actually already discussed this, remember? And I *do* trust the Wilde Team of Jenny Cass and Clare as my go-to source for all that is Oscar. (Have you warned them that you’ve recruited them?!) 😀 THANK YOU.

    1. Actually, one reason I liked this book so much is because it is so much more than mere bird facts – she weaves an intricate tale of her father, her childhood, the bio on the author and his books — together with her relationship with Mabel the hawk. It’s a treat, really. Not at all a dull factoid bird book.

  7. Pingback: Nonfiction November Week 1 Wrap Up

    1. YES! The audiobook is excellent! You are making me think I should have included links to my reviews in this post. Hmmmm. Thanks for visiting. And did you see that I recently read a book translated from French AND I also read a book that was written by a French translator (Fog Island Mountains.,..) 🙂

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

