Nonfiction November #NonFicNov

image

I will be participating in this year’s Nonfiction November.

The books I hope to read are all focused around deeper study and understanding of US racial issues, the promotion of civil rights and equal opportunity awareness. My first book will be a historical memoir of the integration of Little Rock Arkansas HS wdcbympb Warriors Don’t Cry by  Melba Pattillo Beals. I purchased this tradeback recently.

Other selections I know I want to read but will take more than one month to do so are:

Ta-Nehisi Coates’ Between the World and Me

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jaqueline Woodson

Kristen Green’s Something Must Be Done About Prince Edward County

Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria? by Beverly Daniel Tatum

The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander

Devil in the Grove by Gilbert King

Shannon Sullivan’s Good White People and Debby Irving’s Waking Up White

(NOTE:  This focus is entirely MINE and I do not mean to imply that NonFiction November has to have any theme at all!!!)

The itinerary for the month includes opportunities for discussion and I encourage you to click on the button above to explore more. The first week, Kim will discuss YOUR YEAR IN NONFIC; week 2 is BOOK PAIRING hosted by Leslie; third week will be Becca discussing NONTRADITIONAL nonfic; and the last week is a book club discussion of I AM MALALA hosted by Katie. Join in!

iambym

PS. I might also dip into a cookbook or two and post about pie. Reference books are nonfiction, right? 😉

pieratingsml

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
14 thoughts on “Nonfiction November #NonFicNov

  1. Thank you for the reminder! I really need to add more non-fiction to my stacks. I really would like to read Between the World and Me. So much buzz about that book. Great choices!

  2. Pingback: Week One #NonFicNov | Care's Online Book Club

  3. Pingback: Year End Review 2015 In Words | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

