Anansi Boys

Thoughts abbynga Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman, Harper Audio 2005, 10’8″

Narrated by the FABULOUS Lenny Henry – awesome job.

For RIP X.

Blurb from goodreads.com:

Fat Charlie Nancy is not actually fat. He was fat once but he is definitely not fat now. No, right now Fat Charlie Nancy is angry, confused and more than a little scared — right now his life is spinning out of control, and it is all his dad’s fault.

If his rotter of an estranged father hadn’t dropped dead at a karaoke night, Charlie would still be blissfully unaware that his dad was Anansi the Spider God. He would have no idea that he has a brother called Spider, who is also a god. And there would be no chance that said brother would be trying to take over his life, flat and fiancé, or, to make matters worse, be doing a much better job of it than him. Desperate to reclaim his life, Charlie enlists the help of four more-than-slightly eccentric old ladies and their unique brand of voodoo and between them they unleash a bitter and twisted force to get rid of Spider. But as darkness descends and badness begins is Fat Charlie Nancy going to get his life back in one piece or is he about to enter a whole netherworld of pain?

Such fun and thrilling and yes, safe, to be plunged into the joy and humor of a Gaiman story. He is just delightful. I love his perspectives on people and ordinary things and his creativity to go way beyond ordinary. His writing is delightful.

Rating: Four solid slices of pie. (No noted mention of pie within the book.)

fourpie

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
19 thoughts on “Anansi Boys

  1. I don’t think Lenny Henry recorded many other audiobooks for adults, sadly, but I looked him up after listening to Anansi Boys and realized we used to own a cassette recording for children of him reading Jack and the Beanstalk and Puss in Boots, way back when, when the kids were little. As you know, Anansi Boys on audio was the reason I started my blog, because I didn’t know anyone else who listened to audiobooks besides me and I had to tell EVERYONE about this recording, so I always love it when someone else loves it too.

    1. Yes, I always think of you when I am proselytizing about audiobooks! Because you helped me get started with your enthusiasm. And I do recall you liked this one especially. (Have you yet listened to one narrated by Gaiman?)

      1. Yes, I listened to Ocean at the End of the Lane and Coraline narrated by Neil Gaiman, and I’ve listened to him read some of his short stories, too. It took me a while to warm to him, but I finally did! Not many authors should narrate their own audiobooks! I just listened to The Ask, narrated by the author, Sam Lipsyte, and I think it could have been a lot better with a professional narrator.

    1. Well, if I went by “my” definition of YA, I would say no but I do think that all ages can enjoy this book. (“MY” definition requires the protag to be under 20 yo? maybe? But sure, Charlie is in his younger 20s so I guess so. Whatever. The genre question doesn’t bother me very often. How do YOU classify it?

        1. Have you read American Gods? Though not a requisite to reading Anansi Boys – I just might say that American Gods is NOT YA and much more adult. Again, my opinion.

  2. I always intend to read more Gaiman but it never seems to happen. I loved one of his books but didn’t like another so he’s a hit or miss with me right now. I actually have two copies of American Gods at home – that’s how much I intend to read him, lol!

    1. I really liked American Gods. I think AG was the book where I really understood the talent of Gaiman – not that I think everything he has done that I’ve read is super dooper amazing but he IS a talent and you gotta love his personality.

  3. I loved this one, but I honestly wonder if I would have enjoyed it half as much if I’d read a hard copy instead of listening to Henry read it. He was so perfect!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

