Heft

Thoughts heftbylm by Liz Moore, Blackstone Audio 2012, 11 hrs 44 min

Narrated by Kirby Heyborne and Keith Szarabajka

I really enjoyed this. I rated this five slices of lemon pie.

I have read some interesting reviews that mention the ambiguous ending and a disturbing date rape scene. I would like to discuss. If you have read this book, read on and chime in. If you haven’t yet, you can keep reading at your own peril.

Quote:  “… the whole place smelled like lemon and pie.”  –  in Chapter Two

We meet Arthur Opp who is a former professor of English who has not left his house in 10 years while eating and eating and eating himself into a weight estimated between 550 and 600 pounds. He has received contact from a former romantic interest; she was one of his students who had to quit school but became a pen pal who hadn’t corresponded in many years. Arthur decides that this contact should be pursued and makes strides to start ‘moving and improving’ if possible, and it was quite delightful to hear his fears about new acquaintances and situations that impact him on this ‘waking up’.

Another story line is told from the perspective of the son of Arthur’s former penpal/student/love interest. He’s a high school baseball jock hoping for a chance at the big leagues so he can avoid college. His mom is a mess, to put it bluntly.

Even at 80% when the reader KNOWS that these story lines MUST crash or converge or cross OR SOMETHING (all caps to demonstrate how passionately I was worried about this!), it was mind-boggling to speculate how this book would end!  When and how would these story lines tie together?

And thus the ambiguity, because… they almost don’t, not really. But I liked it. I liked it very much, even after a few days after listening to the last word and thinking about it. Even after I listened to that last word and said out loud, “Is that IT?!”

I had feared this would be an ugly cry book. I did cry (gently) at about 95% through or so — When Arthur admits that you don’t get to pick your family and sometimes families suck. So sometimes you have to pick your own substitute family.

    ♦

Now. The date rape. It didn’t bother me. I mean, sure, it BOTHERS me, and bother is too soft a word for this crime. It’s wrong, it’s scary and it’s wrong-&-scary. I get it. But this scene in this book was realistic and I wasn’t put in that place of objectively confronting my feelings on how the scene played out. (And truthfully, since this was audio, I swear I thought he stopped – maybe in my mind, he did and even though he admits that he sensed her being uncomfortable and he didn’t care, I thought I heard in the telling that he eventually DID stop. But I’m not going to go try and find that place in the audiobook and listen again. I’ll keep my version. Maybe he stopped not out of a conscience to suddenly respect the girl, so that is problematic, true.

I did think that he protested too much to his girlfriend later (thus, only confirming my version of the event, actually) but I want to say to those reviewers on goodreads who had a problem with the date rape scene being too casual and not dealt with in an appropriately severe manner consequentially to the perp, I GET IT.

But I don’t think it shows the author of being lackadaisical to the issue. I think she presented it just like it might happen. Life sucks. Books don’t always get to be the platform for a moral and a lesson. They get to be messy.

This book had charm and grit and attempts to find the light when all you can see is the dark. You don’t have to like the characters; yes, they were flawed. They were real.

I recommend this book. I recommend the audio.

I will read more by this author.

pieratingsml

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 thoughts on “Heft

  1. I listened to the audio of this book and loved it. It was probably one of my favorite books I read last year. But (and I have to confess this) I don’t remember a date rape scene! I honestly have no memory of it at all. Will have to go back and do a re-read sometime.

    1. Well, it was when he went to that party in Yonkers and all his PLHS friends wanted to tag along and everyone got drunk; his friend Trevor got into a fight which also might have interrupted the ‘scene’ now that I think about it… Anyway, she never says ‘no’ but she starts crying, etc. It was what got him in trouble with Lindsay because she hears about it from someone (and NOT the guy he thought.) Too much memory jogger?
      I’m glad you liked the book, too!

    1. I had to look up the actors who narrate – I suggest you don’t until after. (just cuz of images in your head…. I didn’t recognize them but I shouldn’t have looked!)

  2. litandlife

    Not only do books not always “get” to be the moral compass, they shouldn’t always “have” to be the moral compass. Sometimes, they just reflect reality.

  3. Hi Care! I read this some time ago when it first came out and I don’t remember a lot of the details, but I do remember my overall impression was that it was well written, and I liked it. I read it on the Nook and I find that I remember books less when I read them that way (vs. a physical book). And now that I no longer write reviews, little details escape me. Oh, the struggle, LOL. I enjoyed your review.

      1. I’m doing well, thank you for asking! Very busy! I’m struggling to keep up with work, as life is all-consuming lately. Hey, have you read The Storied Life of AJ Fikry? I read it over the weekend and loved it.

  4. Pingback: The Post In Which I Rank My Top Rated Books of 2015 | Care's Online Book Club

  5. Pingback: The Unseen World – Care's Books and Pie

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

