Big Little Lies

Thoughts bllbylm Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty, Amy Einhorn Books / Penguin Group 2014, 460 pages

WHY I read this now:  Cuz I saw that Lisa of Lit & Life was reading it so it might be considered a case of a stalking-readalong. ha! I needed something different and fun to contrast while reading Atlas Shrugged.

FIRST Sentence/s: “That doesn’t sound like a school trivia night,” said Mrs. Patty Ponder to Marie Antoinette. “That sounds like a riot.”

What’s it ABOUT: Parents who meet at Kindergarten Orientation end up choosing sides over a bullying issue that ends up with someone being MURDERED!!  We know at the start that someone dies, but we don’t know who.

What’s GOOD: Everything? Funny and insightful balanced with serious stuff. Moriarity has the best characters and they say the darndest things. The plot placing with the slow reveal is excellent. I never quite had a grasp on who I could trust – it was always a bit unsettling and yet had many laughable moments. All the unknowns get settled and though murder doesn’t suggest a happy ending exactly, this one was satisfying.

What’s NOT so good: I can’t think of a thing. Having read Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret earlier this year, I can confidently say that this one is even better.

FINAL Thoughts: Do not dismiss this as chick lit. The tendency might be to think this is light whodunnit — chick lit? Pretty cover? I think this does fit the women’s fiction category. Oh bother. WHO CARES? Why the genrefication crap? Anyway — Moriarty tackles heavy stuff in this without ever being heavy-handed. I LOVE books that do the balance well.

Make me laugh, be snarky & smart, tackle something important. Add a few feisty princesses and BINGO.

Other REVIEWs:

Michelle at That’s What She Read says, “Ms. Moriarty deftly combines the serious with the frivolous to make her story enjoyable without losing the impact of her key messages.”

Melissa at Avid Reader’s Musings concludes, “The author makes the characters come alive. She can deal with dark subject matter without making the whole book feel dark.”

Write Meg! gives it a 4.5 out of 5: “This is contemporary, domestic fiction that shimmers and shines; it’s engrossing, well-written, effortless to read. “

RATING: Five slices of pie. Five slices of Pink Lemonade Vanilla Pie with Salty Potato Chip Crust. Oh. Yea.

Breyers Summer Spring recipe shoot click on the pretty picture above to go to the recipe…

 

Did I convince you to try this? Anyone want me to send my copy? I will have a drawing if more than one of you wants it.

 

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
23 thoughts on “Big Little Lies

  1. First of all, that pie looks amazing. OK, wiping away the drool, I loved Big Little Lies and have been thinking of listening to it again. I recently listened to The Husband’s Secret, which I also loved. I do think that I love BLL a little bit more. Serious issues indeed with a bunch of funny, sarcastic asides. I agree that people should not dismiss this as ‘lightweight’. There’s a lot to this story.

  2. Mwah! Thank you for the link love!

    I am so glad you loved this one. I think this is one of her best books yet. Her take on the whole parenting competition thing may be exaggerated but only slightly. I can say I have met someone like everyone of her characters. It helps ease some of the pain of getting caught up in that shit.

    You are absolutely correct. That pie is absolutely perfect!

  3. Totally agree with you on all counts. This book is so much more than you’d imagine. It’s smart, funny, gripping, well-written and surprising. I don’t think I’d eat that pie, though. LOL Not a fan of ice cream.

    1. A good book club book that it covers a ton of stuff and IS enjoyable to read. Rather than have pro/con discussion on the book itself, it lends itself to tearing apart the characters, maybe.

  4. Pingback: The Post In Which I Rank My Top Rated Books of 2015 | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

