The Orphans of Race Point

Thoughts toorpbypf The Orphans of Race Point by Patry Francis, HarperCollins 2014, 524 pages.

Almost epic in scale, this interesting look at love versus romance versus obsession gives the full panorama of emotions, good and bad, and highlights all that is admirable about the human spirit while showing its ugly sides, too.

What’s it ABOUT: A pretty smart 9 yo girl helps a classmate find himself after a devastating tragedy — the effect of which they can never quite outrun. Or maybe, they do? I don’t think I can begin to tell you or figure out how to describe this! I was swept into this and in over my head very quickly.

The kids grow up. Things happen. Actions have consequences. Secrets are found out. Shit happens. Etc. Families are often created by love not blood. There are dogs to love and run the beach with. Who doesn’t like running the beach with a dog?

It didn’t hurt that I lived near this area of Massachusetts and it felt very Massachusettsian. If that isn’t a real word, too bad.

This book is good; the story is riveting and well-paced. It deserves more attention. I’ve read much worse books that got way too much attention; read this to fall in love with the kind of book that you want to tell more people about. I’ve already told Holly and I bet Gail would love this and probably MBR – shoot, I should get ALL of my Mass book club pals to read it!

I read this because another Mass book friend read and recommended but that doesn’t mean that you must be from or need to know about Cape Cod – I’m NOT saying that at all. It just has such a good sense of place, I guess.

Here are a few pictures I took myself of Race Point near Provincetown MA:

IMG_2338 IMG_2344 IMG_2351 IMG_2358  IMG_2364

I’m challenging myself to come up with THREE WORDS for every book. These are the first that popped into my mind. Probably not the best, but the first, so: gritty, sweeping, emotional.

RATING:  fourpie

Other REVIEWs:  Laurie at Bay State Advisory – “It’s literary fiction with a strong story line that touches on big ideas but focuses on the personal.”

SADLY, I only recorded that page 33 has a pie reference. I’ve already returned the book to the library (what was I thinking?!)

Here are two quotes to describe a FIRST KISS:

On page 96: “He took her by the shoulders and kissed her right there in the middle of the street. It was the shortest gentlest kiss imaginable but it pricked her, infected her, forever altered the colors of the landscape where she’d spent her whole life.”

On page 413: “Then he kisses me; even though neither of us have much experience, it’s the kind of perfect knock your bright yellow socks off kiss that changes everything. It happens right there in broad daylight.”

pieratingsml

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
10 thoughts on “The Orphans of Race Point

  1. Yay!!! I’m so, so glad you loved this book along with me!!! I was very bummed that it didn’t make the short list for this year’s Massachusetts Book Awards!

  2. Books that should get all the attention but do not make me sad. Especially when there are SO many crappy books getting way more attention because of the author’s popularity or excellent marketing. I will definitely be adding this to my wish list for a future book store run!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

