I Answer the Question: “What Books Will You Be Reading This Summer?”

I thought I would post something and so I now ponder this question — I see that many of my blogger friends have been busy making lists and posting what books are on their summer reading agenda.

Here goes – off the top of my head:

1. The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith – I just yesterday started this audiobook. It counts right?

2. possibly The Aviator’s Wife – I started it for bookclub but didn’t finish in time.

3. Whatever my book my club just selected at the meeting I missed yesterday. (  _To be filled in__)

4. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

5. Atlas Shrugged – maybe. I admit I’m intimidated by the length. Ti is hosting a readalong for July and August.

6. That Mindset book by Carol Dweck.

 

OH NO! I don’t know what else! I had such a long list going through to Misery and now I’m feeling a bit lost.

 

7. Maybe I need some nonfiction…  Let’s add Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay.

and

8. Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg

9. Heft by Liz Moore is an audiobook I just purchased on the get 2 for 1 credit deal.

and…

10. The Orphans of Race Point because I’m hoping to win it from Laurie! and will read it if I don’t…

 

Of course, it is extremely likely I won’t read this list and will choose something else entirely. I’m funny like that.

What about you? What are you excited to read in the next few months?

 

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
29 thoughts on “I Answer the Question: “What Books Will You Be Reading This Summer?”

  1. I’m excited to hear how you like Station Eleven! I’m reading a pile of books Eleanor brought back, by authors associated with the Iowa Writer’s Workshop.

    1. Wow! Looks like I really need to get to Station Eleven! And I just got notice that Orphans of Race Point is in at the library…
      Hey I’ve been thinking about you – guess I should write a letter. 😉

  2. Station Eleven was quite good. Looking forward to Atlas Shrugged. I know people have mixed feelings about the author but I love a good chunkster that’s a little controversial and can suck you in quickly and I think it’s that. I think. I hope.

    1. I know, I know! It’s just timing. Big books in July might be a big problem… I should perhaps find out if I can do an ebook borrow rather than audio. Hmmmmm (me thinking)

  3. I love making lists but don’t cry if I don’t stick to them (which I rarely do). I was tempted to do Atlas Shrugged when Ti first mentioned it, but just don’t know if I can go there! SO LONG. 🙂

    Happy summer!!! Got your letter yesterday and it made me smile very big. You are the best.

  4. I think it might be time for a reread of The Talented Mr. Ripley. And I’m doing the #AtlasRAL … although I still haven’t finished Misery so I probably shouldn’t be talking about readalongs at all.

    1. What ARE you in the mood for? Orphans of Race Point? Sounds like something you would like. I should also move Mansfield Park up (on) the list. I should do that in audio… Sigh. I’m suddenly getting that stress of TOO MANY BOOKS!

    1. Hi Sheila!! So good to see you. Hmmm – did I put any light books on my list here? I could use a light read, probably. The Aviator’s Wife isn’t it, I don’t think.

    1. Really? Do you think I will like it? Did you notice that I mentioned you but didn’t link to you in a post ‘while back on Flowers for Algernon? Did you ever read that? Am I asking too many questions?

    1. Oh, I already know I want to read Station Eleven. I’ve been moving it NEAR the top of my list since the Tournament of Books and it just keeps hitting second place. But I think I will be intrigued.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

