Dewey’s Readathon and More, Sort Of

It’s Dewey’s Read-A-Thon Time! Click on this button to sign up / learn more:   lg-new-readathonbutton-border

I’m not officially signed up – don’t ask me why – commitment issues maybe? But I was feeling nostalgic and wanted to review my posts from readathons past and share.

My thoughts on the June 2008 CHEERING experience is –>HERE.<– (this one was my first readathon, the second that Dewey organized.)

My post on what Dewey meant to me is HERE. Another fond memory post will be amusing to Ti and Heather… (re: authors named John). “Weekly Geeks” – just saying those words together – gives me one of those odd feelings; a reminder to pause and appreciate. I have more fond memories –>here<– and I hope that Dewey will always be a top 10 — for what she inspired in me and in the world. I can’t find the words that express how in awe I am sometimes of this book blogging experience and the friends I’ve made.

If you are participating, READ ON!  WOO HOO!!! and if you are cheering, SIS BOOM BAH! Kick high and shake those poms!

If you are reading AND cheering, have fun!  * \ 0 /*     <– this is a cheerleader image, btw. Thanks Maree.

And if you are watching from the sidelines, may you still have a chance to read some this weekend and check in on Twitter to give a shout out of encouragement every so often, and think fondly upon this crazy wonderful community of book lovers. Cheers!

loveCare

pieratingsml

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
13 thoughts on “Dewey’s Readathon and More, Sort Of

  1. I had just gone back and read my posts from the very first read-a-thon yesterday. They made me happy and weepy and all kinds of nostalgic. I’m almost afraid to click on your links–not sure how many more tears I’ve got in me this week. But *HUGS HUGS HUGS* my dear.

    I wonder if you know that you cause people, maybe in different ways, to feel good, just like Dewey did.

    1. Yes, it was a fun time and we were all trying to figure it out. We didn’t (ok, I didn’t) know about review copies or anything about “book world” – a time of discovery. Dewey made sure it could be about building a positive community.

  2. It’s amazing the impact and legacy that Dewey had on bloggers like me who never had the chance to know her. I will be reading and cheering tomorrow, grateful for this event and the book blogging community I’m part of.

  3. I’ve never signed up for a readathon, but I keep telling myself one of these days. My other hobbies have been getting in the way of my blogging, but I love reading about your and everyone’s Readathon experiences — past and present!

  4. I too have commitment issues– 24 hours is such a long time. what if someone invites me to lunch?? But I’m always jealous when the read-a-thon comes around, and I’m left out. It’s raining today and all I will be doing is reading…and trying to cheerlead, I guess. Even if it’s unofficially.

  5. I never knew Dewey but she intilled this feeling of comraderie in everyone that she came in contact with, judging by all the love she receives twice a year. Here’s the the power of community 🙂

  6. Let’s all do the fall readathon!! 🙂 I think maybe the June 2008 one was my first one? Can’t remember…would have to look. Maybe the one before that (think I did two with Dewey). It’s amazing how big the Readathon has gotten over the past few years, but I do have a lot of nostalgia for how small it used to be.

    I hope you had a wonderful weekend Care. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. xo

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

